Fontanka - the border of the ceremonial Petersburg

Start

Palace emb., 2

Travel time

45 min (calm step, excluding visits to museums)

Length

2,5km

Finish

Lomonosov sq.

sightseeing routes

What is this route?

Do you know that until the middle of the 18th century, the city border ran along the Fontanka, and even when it moved further, beyond the Obvodny Canal, Fontanka remained the southern border of ceremonial Petersburg? And in Peter's times it was a shallow swamp river named Bezymyanny Erik - the river got its current name from the fountains of the Summer Garden.

... No, the water for the fountains was not taken from the Fontanka - it was supplied through the Ligovsky Canal, in the place of which is now Ligovsky Prospect. The canal ended with an artificial pool at the corner of Basseinaya Street (now Nekrasova), from where it was piped into the Summer Garden. But the pipes were laid over the aqueduct bridge across the Fontanka!

In the 18th century, the river was cleared and deepened, the channel was straightened, embankments were built - first wooden, and then granite. In the 1780s, seven bridges of the same type were thrown across the Fontanka: Simeonovsky, Anichkov, Chernyshev, Obukhovsky, Izmailovsky, Semenovsky and Kalinkin. And they were all - according to the standard design of the French engineer Jean-Rodolphe Perrone - similar, like twin brothers: with granite turrets and adjustable chain mechanisms. Later, most of them were rebuilt.

Today, there are only two such bridges over the Fontanka, and you will get to know one of them - the Lomonosov Bridge (formerly Chernyshev) on this route.

Note!

You can travel around St. Petersburg on your own with a smartphone in hand, or you can sign up for one of the detailed and exciting excursions from our Tour Bureau. Among other things, our guides conduct walking tours "The Stories of the Fontanka River".

You can choose, order and pay for a city tour with an experienced local historian, an expert on the history and architecture of St. Petersburg, in the "Excursions" section.

The cost of a walking tour is 3390 rubles. for a group of 1-4 people + 500 rubles. for each additional guest.

What will you see?

Embankments

Fontanka River Embankment

Bridges

Prachecny (Laundry ) bridge

Art museums

The Summer Palace of Peter I

Parks and gardens

Summer garden

Bridges

Panteleimonovsky Bridge

Churches

Panteleimon church

Famous buildings

House of the Third Division

Bridges

1st Enginerny Bridge

Unusual monuments

Chizhik-Pyzhik

Art museums

The Mikhailovsky Palace (Engineering Palace)

Bridges

2nd Enginerny Bridge

Famous buildings

Circus on the Fontanka

Bridges

Belinsky Bridge

Churches

Church of Simeon and Anna

Palaces and ensembles

The Sheremetev Palace

Famous buildings

Ekaterininsky Institute

Palaces and ensembles

The Naryshkin-Shuvalov Palace

Bridges

Anichkov Bridge

Palaces and ensembles

Anichkov Palace

Palaces and ensembles

The Beloselsky-Belozersky Palace

Cultural spaces

V.V. Mayakovsky library

Yards of St. Petersburg

The courtyards of Tolstoy's house

Famous buildings

School 206, former Petrin Commercial School

Bridges

Lomonosov Bridge

Palaces and ensembles

Ensemble of Lomonosov Square

Еще 21 +

What can you expect?

The journey begins at the Palace Embankment, at the Laundry Bridge, one of the first stone bridges in St. Petersburg. There were palace laundries nearby - hence its unusual name.

Then a leisurely stroll through the Summer Garden awaits you. In the Petrine era, it was decorated with many fountains - they were destroyed by a powerful flood in 1777, and at the same time the aqueduct through which water was supplied was damaged. And there was an aqueduct on the site of the current Panteleimonovsky bridge, to which you now went, having passed through the Summer Garden.

On the left is the Panteleimon Church, one of the oldest Orthodox churches in St. Petersburg, which gave its name to the bridge. And this bridge was also called the Chain Bridge - after all, this is exactly what it was from 1824 to 1905, until it was rebuilt ... just in case. What if it also collapses, as the Egyptian bridge of a similar design collapsed in 1905?

An inconspicuous house on the left bank of the Fontanka was also called the building "at the Chain Bridge". Inconspicuous, but ominous, because the Third Section of His Imperial Majesty's Chancellery, the body of the political investigation of the Russian Empire, was located here.

And your path lies along the right bank of the Fontanka, past the majestic Mikhailovsky (Engineering) castle. After crossing the Moika River flowing from the Fontanka along the First Engineering Bridge, do not forget to throw a coin for luck to Chizhik-Pyzhik ... And here is another Engineering Bridge - Second. It is interesting in that it does not connect any shores, passing over a piece of land. Once there was one of the canals that surrounded the castle of Paul the First.

Ahead is the Ciniselli Circus, the first stone circus building in our country, one of the most beautiful in Europe, and on the left is the Belinsky Bridge, the former Simeonovsky Bridge, one of the seven twin bridges of J.R. Perrone and one of the five that have not preserved their turrets. Cross to the left bank, take a look at the old church of Simeon and Anna, which gave the name to the bridge.

Having reached the Sheremetyevsky Palace, also known as the Fountain House, look into the courtyard, to the left, and pay attention to the gate with the coat of arms of the Sheremetev family. Two lions are holding a shield, and under it is the motto: Deus conservat omnia (God preserves everything). Anna Akhmatova, who lived here, in the wing of the Fountain House, took these words as an epigraph to her Poem Without a Hero.

The building of the Catherine Institute for Noble Maidens was built at the beginning of the 19th century according to the design of Giacomo Quarenghi. Today it is one of the buildings of the Russian National Library. Opposite, across the Fontanka, is the light and graceful palace of the Naryshkins-Shuvalovs in the neo-Renaissance style. Today it houses the Faberge Museum.

The Anichkov Bridge with the famous sculptural groups - the horses of Peter Klodt - needs no special introduction. It's hard to believe, but once it was typical, with the same turrets.

To the right and to the left of the bridge are two magnificent palaces, red and white: the Beloselsky-Belozersky palace and the Anichkov palace. The name of this palace and bridge comes from the surname of Lieutenant Colonel-Engineer Mikhail AnIchkov, whose battalion was located in these places during the time of Peter I and built the first bridge across the Fontanka along the axis of the Nevskaya prospect.

Pay attention to the building of the Mayakovsky Library. In the first half of the 18th century, when the border of St. Petersburg passed along the Fontanka, the country estates of noble townspeople were located on the left bank. The existing building in the neo-Russian style appeared in the middle of the 19th century - it was occupied by the courtyard of the Trinity-Sergius Lavra.

The grandiose arches of the Tolstoy House - an example of the Northern Art Nouveau style by the famous Fyodor Lidval - will lead you into the courtyards, a whole huge city of courtyards, between Fontanka and Rubinstein Street. Local residents - wealthy owners of luxury apartments - are not very happy about excursions, but they have nothing against single tourists.

And now, finally, in front of you is the Lomonosov Bridge (formerly Chernyshev), which has retained its architectural appearance (and turrets!) Since 1787. There are only two such bridges left on the Fontanka: Lomonosov and Staro-Kalinkin. But you will not get to the last one today - it is far away, almost at the very mouth of the river. You will cross the Fontanka and find yourself on Lomonosov Square (Chernysheva), whose classical architectural ensemble was created in the 1830s by the great architect Karl Rossi.

Your route along the banks of the Fontanka River ends here.

Фонтанка — граница парадного Петербурга

Старт

Дворцовая наб., 2

Время в пути

45 минут (спокойным шагом, без учета посещения музеев)

Протяженность

2,5 км

Финиш

пл. Ломоносова

обзорные маршруты

Что это за маршрут?

Давайте совершим путешествие по набережной Фонтанки! Знаете ли вы, что до середины XVIII века по Фонтанке проходила граница города, и даже когда она отодвинулась дальше, за Обводный канал, Фонтанка осталась южной границей парадного Петербурга? А в петровские времена это была мелководная болотная речка по имени Безымянный Ерик — свое нынешнее название река получила по фонтанам Летнего сада.

…Нет, воду для фонтанов брали не из Фонтанки — она подавалась по Лиговскому каналу, на месте которого теперь Лиговский проспект. Канал заканчивался искусственным бассейном на углу Бассейной улицы (ныне Некрасова), откуда по трубам поступала в Летний сад. А вот трубы были проложены по мосту-акведуку, перекинутому через Фонтанку!

В XVIII веке реку расчистили и углубили, русло спрямили, устроили набережные — сперва деревянные, а затем гранитные. В 1780-е годы через Фонтанку перекинули семь однотипных мостов: Симеоновский, Аничков, Чернышёв, Обуховский, Измайловский, Семеновский и Калинкин. И все они были – по типовому проекту французского инженера Жана-Родольфа Перроне – похожими, как братья-близнецы: с гранитными башенками и цепными разводными механизмами. Позднее большую часть из них перестроили.

Сегодня таких мостов через Фонтанку остались только два, и с одним из них – мостом Ломоносова (бывший Чернышёв) – вы познакомитесь на этом маршруте.

Обратите внимание!

Вы можете путешествовать по Петербургу самостоятельно со смартфоном в руке, а можете записаться на одну из подробных и увлекательных экскурсий от нашего Экскурсионного бюро. Выбрать, заказать и оплатить экскурсию по городу с опытным краеведом, знатоком истории и архитектуры Петербурга, вы можете в разделе «Экскурсии».

Стоимость пешеходной экскурсии – 3390 руб. за группу 1-4 человека + 500 руб. за каждого дополнительного гостя.

Что вы увидите?

Набережные

Набережная реки Фонтанки

Мосты

Прачечный мост

Художественные музеи

Летний дворец Петра I

Сады и парки

Летний сад

Мосты

Пантелеймоновский мост

Храмы

Пантелеимоновская церковь

Знаменитые строения

Дом Третьего отделения

Мосты

1-й Инженерный мост

Необычные памятники

Чижик-Пыжик

Художественные музеи

Михайловский (Инженерный) замок

Мосты

2-й Инженерный мост

Знаменитые строения

Цирк Чинизелли на Фонтанке

Мосты

Мост Белинского

Храмы

Церковь Симеона и Анны

Дворцы и ансамбли

Шереметевский дворец

Знаменитые строения

Екатерининский институт благородных девиц

Дворцы и ансамбли

Дворец Нарышкиных-Шуваловых

Мосты

Аничков мост

Дворцы и ансамбли

Аничков дворец

Дворцы и ансамбли

Дворец Белосельских-Белозерских

Культурные пространства

Библиотека им. В. В. Маяковского

Петербургские дворы

Дворы Толстовского дома

Знаменитые строения

Школа 206, бывшее Петровское Коммерческое училище

Мосты

Мост Ломоносова

Дворцы и ансамбли

Ансамбль площади Ломоносова

Еще 21 +

Что вас ожидает?

Путешествие начинается на Дворцовой набережной, у Прачечного моста – одного из первых петербургских каменных мостов. Рядом находились дворцовые прачечные – отсюда его необычное название.

Дальше вас ждет неспешная прогулка по Летнему саду. В петровскую эпоху он был украшен множеством фонтанов – их разрушило мощное наводнение 1777 года, а заодно был поврежден акведук, через который подавалась вода. А находился акведук на месте нынешнего Пантелеймоновского моста, к которому вы сейчас и вышли, пройдя Летний сад насквозь.

Слева — Пантелеимоновская церковь, один из старейших петербургских православных храмов, давший название мосту. А еще этот мост называли Цепным – ведь именно таким он и был с 1824 до 1905 года, пока его не перестроили… на всякий случай. Вдруг он тоже обрушится, как обрушился в 1905 году Египетский мост аналогичной конструкции?

Зданием «у Цепного моста» называли и неприметный дом на левом берегу Фонтанки. Неприметный, но зловещий, ведь здесь располагалось Третье отделение собственной Его Императорского Величества канцелярии – орган политического сыска Российской Империи.

А ваш путь лежит по правому берегу Фонтанки, мимо величественного Михайловского (Инженерного) замка. Перейдя вытекающую из Фонтанки реку Мойку по Первому Инженерному мосту, не забудьте бросить на счастье монетку Чижику-Пыжику… А вот и еще один Инженерный мост – Второй. Он интересен тем, что не соединяет никаких берегов, проходя над участком суши. Когда-то тут был один из каналов, окружавших замок Павла Первого.

Впереди – Цирк Чинизелли, первое в нашей стране каменное цирковое здание, одно из красивейших в Европе, а слева — мост Белинского, бывший Симеоновский, один из семи мостов-близнецов Ж.-Р.Перроне и один из пяти, не сохранивших свои башенки. Перейдите на левый берег, взгляните на старинную церковь Симеона и Анны, давшую имя мосту.

Дойдя до Шереметевского дворца, он же Фонтанный дом, загляните во двор, налево, и обратите внимание на ворота с гербом рода Шереметевых. Два льва держат щит, а под ним — девиз: Deus conservat omnia (Бог сохраняет все). Эти слова взяла эпиграфом к своей «Поэме без героя» Анна Ахматова, которая жила здесь, во флигеле Фонтанного дома.

Здание екатерининского института благородных девиц было построено в начале XIX века по проекту Джакомо Кваренги. Сегодня это одно из зданий Российской национальной библиотеки. Напротив, через Фонтанку, — легкий и изящный дворец Нарышкиных-Шуваловых в стиле неоренессанс. Сегодня здесь располагается музей Фаберже.

Аничков мост со знаменитыми скульптурными группами — конями Петра Клодта в особом представлении не нуждается. Трудно поверить, но когда-то и он был типовым, с такими же башенками.

Справа и слева от моста – два роскошных дворца, красный и белый: дворец Белосельских-Белозерских и Аничков дворец. Название этого дворца и моста происходит от фамилии подполковника-инженера Михаила АнИчкова, чей батальон располагался в этих местах во времена Петра I и строил первый мост через Фонтанку по оси Невской першпективы.

Обратите внимание на здание библиотеки имени Маяковского. В первой половине XVIII века, когда по Фонтанке проходила граница Санкт-Петербурга, на левом берегу располагались загородные усадьбы знатных горожан. Существующее строение в неорусском стиле появилось в середине XIX столетия — его занимало подворье Троице-Сергиевой Лавры.

Грандиозные арки Толстовского дома – образец стиля северный модерн работы знаменитого Федора Лидваля— приведут вас во дворы, целый огромный город дворов, между Фонтанкой и улицей Рубинштейна. Местные жители – богатые владельцы элитных квартир — не очень рады экскурсиям, но ничего не имеют против одиночных туристов.

На углу Щербакова переулка вы увидите здание в стиле эклектика — это бывшее Петровское Коммерческое училище, а ныне 206-я городская школа. В 1900 году училище было удостоено золотой медали на Всемирной выставке в Париже, а уже в советское время школу окончили артист Аркадий Райкин, писатели Сергей Довлатов и Иван Ефремов, поэты Николай Тихонов и Евгений Рейн, физик-ядерщик Яков Зельдович.

И вот, наконец, перед вами – мост Ломоносова (бывший Чернышёв), сохранивший свой архитектурный облик (и башенки!) с 1787 года. Таких мостов на Фонтанке осталось только два: Ломоносова и Старо-Калинкин. Но до последнего вы сегодня не доберетесь — он далековато, почти у самого устья реки. Вы перейдете Фонтанку и окажетесь на площади Ломоносова (Чернышёвой), чей классический архитектурный ансамбль создал в 1830-х годах великий зодчий Карл Росси.

Здесь заканчивается ваш маршрут вдоль реки Фонтанки.