Famous building

House of the Third Division

Address

Fontanka emb., 16

Category

Famous buildings

Years of foundation

End of 18th century, 1818 (rebuilt)

Architects

O. Monferrand

Style

Classicism

The first stone building on Fontanka, 16, was erected at the end of the 18th century for Count Osterman. The mansion changed hands several times, and finally, in 1818, Count V.P. Kochubey bought it. The building was rebuilt by architect Auguste de Montferrand and was distinguished by exquisite interior decoration.

In 1838, after the death of Kochubey, the government bought the house. It housed the Third Division of His own Imperial Majesty's office. Established by Nicholas I in 1826, the Third Division, headed by A.Kh. Benkendorf became an organ of political investigation. Here, on a vast territory inside, besides the office itself, there was an archive, gendarme barracks, and a prison for those under investigation.

Many progressive-minded people of Russia had a chance to feel the hard hand of the Third Division. For example, in 1840 A.I. Herzen was brought here, and then expelled from the capital for "sedition" in a private letter, opened by the gendarmes. Subsequently, he called the Third Division "the main spy office." In April-May 1847 Taras Shevchenko was in this prison, and in April 1849 F.M. Dostoevsky, arrested along with members of the Petrashevsky circle.

In 1880, the government transformed the Third Division into the Police Department. However, almost the same institution continued to function under the new sign. So, during the investigation, members of the “Narodnaya Volya” were here.

According to the testimony of a journalist who managed to get into the building on Fontanka after the February Revolution, there was a file cabinet on the second floor, where information about the “unreliable” residents of St. Petersburg was collected on the basis of spy reports, and on the third floor there were employee cards, including secret provocative agents .

In Soviet and post-Soviet times, right up to 2013, a city court was located in a house on Fontanka, 16.

Знаменитое здание

Дом Третьего отделения

Адрес

наб. Фонтанки, 16

Год постройки

Конец XVIII века, 1818 (перестроен)

Архитектор

О. Монферран

Стиль

классицизм

Знаменитые здания /

Каменное здание на Фонтанке было возведено в конце XVIII века для графа Остермана. Особняк несколько раз переходил из рук в руки, и, наконец, в 1818 году его купил граф В.П. Кочубей. Здание было перестроено по проекту архитектора Огюста Монферрана и отличалось изысканной отделкой внутренних помещений.

В 1838 году, после смерти Кочубея, дом выкупило правительство. Здесь разместилось Третье отделение собственной Его Императорского Величества канцелярии. Учрежденное Николаем I в 1826 году, Третье отделение во главе с А.Х. Бенкендорфом стало органом политического сыска. Здесь, на обширной внутриквартальной территории, кроме самой канцелярии, размещались архив, жандармские казармы, а также тюрьма для подследственных.

Многим прогрессивно мыслящим людям России довелось ощутить на себе тяжелую руку Третьего отделения. Например, в 1840 году сюда был доставлен, а затем выслан из столицы, молодой А.И. Герцен за «крамолу» в частном письме, вскрытом жандармами. Впоследствии он назвал Третье отделение «главной шпионской конторой». В апреле-мае 1847 года в этой тюрьме сидел Тарас Шевченко, а в апреле 1849 году — Ф.М. Достоевский, арестованный вместе с участниками кружка петрашевцев.

В 1880 году правительство преобразовало Третье отделение в Департамент полиции. Однако под новой вывеской продолжало функционировать практически то же учреждение. Так, во время следствия здесь находились члены «Народной воли».

По свидетельству журналиста, которому удалось проникнуть в здание на Фонтанке после Февральской революции, на втором этаже находилась картотека, где на основе шпионских доносов была собраны сведения о «неблагонадежных» жителях Петербурга, а на третьем — карточки сотрудников, в том числе тайных агентов-провокаторов.

В советское и постсоветское время, вплоть до 2013 года, в доме на Фонтанке, 16, располагался городской суд.