Church

Panteleimon church

Address

Pestel’s st., 2А

Category

Churches

Daily

Years of foundation

1735—1739

Architect

IK Korobov, VI Beretti

Style

Peter's Baroque, Empire

Active Orthodox church

The Panteleimon church is one of the oldest Orthodox churches in St. Petersburg. It is dedicated to Russian naval glory. The church is located at the intersection of Pestel street and Solyany pereulok. It is an architectural monument of the XVIII century.

The history of the Panteleimon church dates from the times of Peter I. In 1718, the chapel of St. Panteleimon was built for the workers of the Particularnaya dockyard at the source of the Fontanka river, opposite to the Summer Garden. A few years later, the consecration of the mud-brick church built by the project of architect Nikolai Gerbel, was held. The stone church designed by Ivan Korobov, was built in the 1730s. Since the beginning of the XVIII century the church housed a particularly revered icon of St. Panteleimon.

In the 1830s, the building was rebuilt by architect V.I.I Beretti in the style of late Empire. In the 1840s, the facades of the church were decorated with marble bas-reliefs. Later, the church has been repeatedly expanded. In the period of 1895-1896, a chapel of Prince Michael Chernigovsky and his son Fedor was attached to the church from the side of the Neva river. This is exactly the appearance of the Panteleimon church which has survived to this day.

The church was closed in 1936. Since 1980, the building was under the jurisdiction of the Museum of the History of the City. It housed the exhibition called "the Gangut Memorial". In 1991, the church was transferred to the St. Petersburg diocese. Since 1994, divine services have been resumed.

Храм

Пантелеимоновская церковь

Адрес

улица Пестеля, 2А

Категория

Храмы

Ежедневно

Год постройки

1735—1739

Архитектор

И. К. Коробов, В. И. Беретти

Стиль

петровское барокко, ампир

Храмы /

Пантелеимоновская церковь — один из старейших петербургских православных храмов, посвящен русской воинской морской славе. Храм расположен на пересечении улицы Пестеля и Соляного переулка, является памятником архитектуры XVIII века.

История Пантелеимоновской церкви начинается еще при Петре I. В 1718 году в истоке Фонтанки, напротив Летнего сада была построена часовня святого Пантелеимона для рабочих Партикулярной верфи. Несколькими годами позже состоялось освящение мазанковой церкви по проекту архитектора Николая Гербеля.  Каменный храм, спроектированный Иваном Коробовым, возвели в 1730-е годы.  В храме находилась особо чтимая икона св. Пантелеимона начала XVIII века.

В 1830-е годы здание было перестроено архитектором В. И. Беретти в стиле позднего ампира. В 1840-е годы фасады церкви украсили мраморными барельефами. Впоследствии храм неоднократно расширялся, а в 1895—1896 годы со стороны Невы к нему был пристроен придел князя Михаила Черниговского и его сына Феодора. Именно в таком виде Пантелеимоновская церковь и дошла до наших дней.

Храм был закрыт в 1936 году. С 1980 года здание находилось в ведении Музея истории города, в нем размещалась выставка «Гангутский мемориал». В 1991 году храм передан Санкт-Петербургской епархии, в 1994 году в нем возобновились богослужения.