Park

Summer garden

Address

Kutuzov Emb, 2

Daily

Closed

Timetable

from May 1 to September 30 - from 10:00 to 22:00; from October 1 to March 31 - from 10:00 to 20:00;from April 1 to April 30 - closed.
Day off - Tuesday.

Year of foundation

1704

Ticket price

Free

Lattice of the Summer Garden, architects : Yuri Felten and Peter Egorov.

The history of the Summer Garden begins in 1704. In that time Peter I ordered the splendid park in the area of the empty house of the Swede Konau to be opened. The sovereign personally made a sketch and ordered to decorate the garden with annual plants each year. After a couple of years, the first fountain appeared, and in 1710 the Summer Palace of Peter I was built.

Peter wanted to have in Summer Garden as many sculptures as possible. In 1714 one of the open galleries was decorated with a statue of Venus, donated by the Pope of Rome. Sculptures were collected from all over the world and by the end of the reign of Queen Elizabeth the two hundredth statue was installed in the garden.

In 1771, from the northern part of the garden, an amazing fence was established, which managed to become one of the main symbols of St. Petersburg. The lattice of the Summer Garden, created by the project of architect Yuri Felten and Peter Egorov became famous throughout the world.

Over the years of its existence, the Summer Garden has repeatedly changed its appearance, in every era it looked in its own way. The last reconstruction of the Summer Garden was completed in 2012. Great fountains have been restored and historical buildings have been reconstructed.

The Summer Garden is run by the State Russian Museum.

Парк

Летний сад

Адрес

Набережная Кутузова, 2

Категория

Сады и парки

Ежедневно

Выходной

Расписание работы

С 1 октября по 31 марта — с 10:00 до 20:00 (вход закрывается в 19:30); с 1 мая по 30 сентября — с 10:00 до 22:00; с 1 апреля по 30 апреля — закрыт на просушку.

Год основания

1704

Стоимость билетов

Вход бесплатный

История Летнего сада начинается в 1704 году. Именно тогда Петр I повелел разбить в районе пустующего дома шведа Конау прекрасный парк. Государь собственноручно начертал эскиз и повелел каждый год украшать сад растениями однолетниками. Через пару лет тут заложили первый фонтан, а в 1710 году построили Летний дворец Петра I.

Петр желал заставить Летний сад как можно большим числом скульптур. В 1714 году одну из открытых галерей украсили статуей Венеры, подаренной папой Римским. Скульптуры собирали со всех сторон света, и к завершению правления царицы Елизаветы в саду была установлена  двухсотая по счету статуя.

В 1771 году с северной части сада была установлена удивительной красоты ограда, которой удалось стать одним из главных символов Петербурга. Решетка Летнего сада, созданная по проекту архитектора Юрия Фельтена и Петра Егорова прославилась на весь мир.

За годы своего существования Летний сад неоднократно менял свой облик, в каждую эпоху он выглядел по-своему. Последняя реконструкция Летнего сада завершилась в 2012 году. Были отреставрированы великолепные фонтаны и воссозданы исторические постройки.

Летний сад находится в ведении Государственного Русского музея.