Famous building

Circus on the Fontanka

Address

Fontanka emb, 3

Category

Famous buildings

Daily

Years of foundation

1877

Architects

V.A. Kenel

Style

eclecticism

On the right bank of the Fontanka River  the Great St. Petersburg State Circus is located, the former Circus Ciniselli. The first owner of the circus was Gaetano Ciniselli (1815-1881), the famous Italian circus artist.

The circus, built according to the project of architect Vasily Kenel, was opened on December 26, 1877, and became one of the most beautiful in Europe. This unique structure was the first stone circus building in Russia, built taking into account the specificity of the circus show.

The building appeared using advanced engineering solutions. Thus, the dome of a record altitude for that time - 49.7 meters, for the first time in the world was built without internal pillars. This created an amazing spatial effect and was subsequently widely used in the construction of circuses and similar buildings.

The decoration of the auditorium was done with luxury. In its decoration crimson velvet, gold, mirrors are combined. Lodges and seats in the stalls were designed for 1500 people, and the total filling of the hall, due to a capacious gallery, reached 5000 spectators.

The building was reconstructed several times, its interiors changed. The circus acquired its modern appearance after the last reconstruction, which was completed in 2015. At the same time, in honor of the bicentenary of Gaetano Ciniselli, the building was returned to its original name, Ciniselli Circus.

Достопримечательность

Цирк Чинизелли на Фонтанке

Адрес

наб. р. Фонтанки, 3

Ежедневно

Год постройки

1877 год

Архитектор

В.А. Кенель

Стиль

эклектика

На правом берегу реки Фонтанки расположен Большой Санкт-Петербургский Государственный цирк, бывший Цирк Чинизелли. Первым владельцем цирка был Гаэтано Чинизелли (1815–1881) — знаменитый итальянский цирковой артист.

Цирк, возведенный по проекту архитектора Василия Кенеля, открылся 26 декабря 1877 года и  стал одним из красивейших в Европе. Это уникальное сооружение было первым в России каменным зданием цирка, построенным с учетом специфики циркового зрелища.

Здание возведено с применением передовых инженерных решений. Так, купол рекордной для того времени высоты — 49,7 метров — впервые в мире обошелся без внутренних опорных колонн. Это создало удивительный пространственный эффект и впоследствии широко применялось при строительстве цирков и подобных зданий.

Оформление зрительного зала было выполнено с роскошью. В его убранстве сочетались малиновый бархат, золото, зеркала. Ложи и места в партере были рассчитаны на 1500 человек, а общее наполнение зала, за счет вместительной галерки, доходило до 5000 зрителей.

Здание несколько раз реконструировали, его интерьеры менялись. Свой современный облик цирк приобрел после последней реконструкции, которая завершилась в 2015 году. Тогда же в честь двухсотлетия Гаэтано Чинизелли зданию вернули изначальное имя — Цирк Чинизелли.