Palace

Ensemble of Lomonosov Square

Address

Lomonosov sq.

Daily

Years of foundation

1828–1834

Architects

K.I. Rossi

Style

Classicism

Lomonosov Square (until 1948 - Chernysheva Square) is located on the embankment of the Fontanka River in front of the bridge of the same name.

Until the middle of the 18th century, this place was part of the Anichkov Palace estate, which stretched from Fontanka to Sadovaya Street. In the 1820s, the architect K.I. Rossi was entrusted with the redevelopment of this territory. In April 1828, his project was approved, which included the construction of the Alexandrinsky Theater, the construction of a passage from the theater to the Chernyshev Bridge (this street was named after Architect Rossi) and the creation of two squares - Alexandrinsky (now Ostrovsky Square) and Chernysheva (now Lomonosov sq.). Most of the work was completed by 1834.

Chernyshev Lane, bridge and square were named after the site, which at the beginning of the 18th century belonged to Count Pyotr Grigoryevich Chernyshev - diplomat, senator, godson of Peter I.

Chernyshev Lane - the current Lomonosov Street - overlooks a semicircular square through the arched building of the Ministry of Education. The house of the Ministry of the Interior stands out on the west side of the square. On the east side is his "twin" - the Directorate of the Imperial Theaters. In contrast to the lavishly decorated Alexandrinsky Theater, the facades on Chernysheva Square are distinguished by their laconic architecture.

In the 1870s, on the initiative of the famous St. Petersburg mayor F.F. Trepov in the center of the square a garden was designed, where in 1892 a bust of M.V. Lomonosov work of the sculptor P.P. Zabello was erected. Since 1948, the square bears the name of this great Russian scientist.

Архитектурный ансамбль

Ансамбль площади Ломоносова

Адрес

пл. Ломоносова

Ежедневно

Год постройки

1828–1834

Архитекторы

К.И. Росси

Стиль

Классицизм

Площадь Ломоносова (до 1948 года – Чернышёва площадь) расположена на набережной реки Фонтанки перед одноименным мостом.

До середины XVIII века это место было частью усадьбы Аничкова дворца, которая простиралась от Фонтанки до Садовой улицы. В 1820-х годах архитектору К.И. Росси была поручена перепланировка этой территории. В апреле 1828 года был одобрен его проект, который включал в себя возведение Александринского театра, застройку проезда от театра к Чернышёву мосту (эта улица получила имя Зодчего Росси) и создание двух площадей — Александринской (ныне пл. Островского) и Чернышёвой (ныне пл. Ломоносова). Основная часть работ была завершена к 1834 году.

Чернышёв переулок, мост и площадь получили имя по участку, который в начале XVIII века принадлежал графу Петру Григорьевичу Чернышёву – дипломату, сенатору, крестнику Петра I.

Чернышёв переулок – нынешняя улица Ломоносова — выходит на полукруглую площадь через прорезанное арками здание министерства народного просвещения. На западной стороне площади выделяется дом министерства внутренних дел. С восточной стороны стоит его «близнец» — дирекция Императорских театров. В противоположность пышно декорированному Александринскому театру, фасады на Чернышёвой площади отличаются лаконизмом архитектурных форм.

В 1870-х годах по инициативе знаменитого петербургского градоначальника Ф.Ф. Трепова в центре площади был разбит сквер, где в 1892 году установили бюст М.В. Ломоносова работы скульптора П.П. Забелло.  С 1948 года площадь носит имя этого великого русского ученого.