City of the Architect Rossi

Start

Senat Sq.

Travel time

around 1 hr (calm step, excluding visits to museums)

Length

around 5 km

Finish

Lomonosov sq.

theme routes

What is this route?

Karl Ivanovich Rossi (1775-1849) is one of the most famous architects who created the unique look of St. Petersburg.

Carlo di Giovanni Rossi was born on December 18, 1775 in Naples, in 1787 he moved with his family to St. Petersburg. In his youth he studied with the architect Vincenzo Brenna, whom he helped with the construction of the Mikhailovsky Castle in 1796-1801.

Rossi's early independent works in St. Petersburg and its environs also include the pavilions and the library of the Pavlovsk Palace and the Elagin Palace with a greenhouse and pavilions. But the architect's main field of activity was the creation of ceremonial architectural ensembles of the Northern capital, which you will get to know on this route.

The architect died on April 6, 1849 in St. Petersburg, and was buried at the Volkov Lutheran cemetery. Reburied in 1940 at the Lazarevskoye cemetery of the Alexander Nevsky Lavra.

What will you see?

Palaces and ensembles

The ensemble of the Senate Square

Open City Project

Presidential Library named after B.N. Yeltsin

Embankments

Admiralty Embankment

Palaces and ensembles

The ensemble of the Palace Square

Famous buildings

Arch of the General Staff

Palaces and ensembles

General Staff Building

Bridges

Thriple Bridge

Parks and gardens

Mikhailovsky Garden

Palaces and ensembles

The Mikhailovsky Palace

Palaces and ensembles

Arts Square Ensemble

Palaces and ensembles

The ensemble of the Manezhnaya Square

Parks and gardens

Catherine Square

Open City Project

Russian National Library

Famous buildings

The Alexandrinsky Theater

Palaces and ensembles

Architectural Ensemble of Rossi Street

Palaces and ensembles

Ensemble of Lomonosov Square

Еще 12 +

What can you expect?

The route starts at Senate Square, near the buildings of the Senate and Synod. The arch between them, according to the architect's plan, was intended to symbolize the unity of the state and the church. Now the Senate building is occupied by the Constitutional Court, and the Synod building is occupied by the Yeltsin Presidential Library.

Your path lies along the Admiralty Embankment, the front pier with lions - the creation of Karl Rossi. Interestingly, historically, the pier was located slightly upstream - where today the Palace Bridge is.

The ensemble of Palace Square - the main ceremonial square of St. Petersburg - was formed in the 1820s, when the General Staff building complex was erected according to Rossi's design. Today, the eastern wing of the General Staff building houses exhibitions of the State Hermitage. Two wings, covering the square in a semicircle and connected by a triumphal arch, are one of the most famous "postcard" views of the city. But cross the Moika River and look at the eastern wing of the building from the Capella side, and you will see an unusual picture - an acute, almost two-dimensional angle of the facade, reminiscent of the bow of a ship.

Walk along the Moika embankment to the place where it connects with the Griboyedov canal, and you will see Trehmostye - a unique engineering structure of three parts: Malo-Konyushenny and Teatralny bridges, as well as the False bridge-dam. The author of the Three Bridge is engineer V.K. von Tretter, and the project for the redevelopment of this territory belongs to Rossi, it was drawn up as part of the construction of the Mikhailovsky Palace, which is still ahead of you.

But the classic three-storey house, located next to the bridges and made in the yellow and white colors typical for Russia, was built not by Rossi, but by a completely different architect - Domenico Adamini.

After going around the Church of the Savior on Spilled Blood, enter the Mikhailovsky Garden, which was created at the Mikhailovsky Palace according to the plan of the great architect. As you walk through the garden, pay attention to Rossi's pavilion, with its Doric colonnade and semi-rotunda, and Rossi's graceful cast-iron bridge across a channel that connects two ponds.

The Mikhailovsky Palace today houses the State Russian Museum. Both the palace itself and the ensemble of the Arts Square, to which it faces the main facade, were designed by Rossi. He also drew up projects of all buildings overlooking the square in the same style, and in the future this style was followed by other architects who built up the square.

On the neighboring Manezhnaya Square you will see the buildings of the Mikhailovsky Manege and stables. They were built by the architect Vincenzo Brenna as part of the Mikhailovsky Castle complex of buildings. Young Carl Rossi, as we remember, helped his teacher in this project, and in 1823-1824 he rebuilt the riding hall and stables, linking their facades into a single composition.

Malaya Sadovaya Street will lead you to Ostrovsky Square. In the 19th century, the square was called Alexandrinskaya after its dominant - the majestic Empire building of the Alexandrinsky Theater. Apart from the theater, Karl Rossi was also responsible for one of the buildings of the Russian National Library, overlooking the square with its main facade.

Until the middle of the 18th century, these lands were occupied by the estate of the Anichkov Palace. In the 1820s K.I. Rossi created a redevelopment project for the estate. It included the construction of a theater, the creation of two squares - Alexandrinskaya and Chernysheva (now Lomonosov Square) and the construction of a passage from the theater to Chernysheva Square.

It was this passage that became the street, which in the XX century received the name of the Architect Rossi (the historical name is Teatralnaya). The street is unique for its exact adherence to ancient canons: the width is equal to the height of the buildings that form it, and the length is exactly ten times greater. The length of the street is 220 meters, the width and height of the buildings are 22 meters.

Along Zodchego Rossi Street you come to Lomonosov Square with its classic buildings of two ministries and the Directorate of the Imperial Theaters. This is where your route ends.

Город Зодчего Росси

Старт

Сенатская пл.

Время в пути

около 1 часа (спокойным шагом, без учета посещения музеев)

Протяженность

около 5 км

Финиш

пл. Ломоносова

тематические маршруты

Что это за маршрут?

Карл Иванович Росси (1775–1849) — один из самых знаменитых архитекторов, создавших Санкт-Петербург.

Карло ди Джованни Росси родился 18 декабря 1775 года в Неаполе, в 1787 году переехал в Россию. В юности обучался у архитектора Винченцо Бренна, которому помогал при строительстве Михайловского замка. К ранним  работам Росси также относятся павильоны Павловского дворца и Елагин дворец. Но прославили архитектора парадные архитектурные ансамбли центра Северной столицы, с которыми вы и познакомитесь на этом маршруте. 

Зодчий скончался 6 апреля 1849 года в Санкт-Петербурге, его могила находися на Лазаревском кладбище Александро-Невской лавры.

Обратите внимание!

Вы можете пройти маршрут самостоятельно со смартфоном в руке, а можете записаться на живую, подробную индивидуальную экскурсию с нашим гидом — опытным краеведом, знатоком истории Петербурга. Он расскажет вам массу интересного и удивительного о нашем городе и обо всех достопримечательностях на этом маршруте.

Чтобы записаться на экскурсию, свяжитесь с нами по телефону: +7 (812) 611-30-12 или электронной почте zakaz@petersburg24.ru

Что вы увидите?

Дворцы и ансамбли

Ансамбль Сенатской площади

Проект «Открытый город»

Здание Синода

Набережные

Адмиралтейская набережная

Дворцы и ансамбли

Ансамбль Дворцовой площади

Знаменитые здания

Арка Главного штаба

Дворцы и ансамбли

Здания Главного штаба, министерств иностранных дел и финансов

Мосты

Трехмостье

Сады и парки

Михайловский сад

Дворцы и ансамбли

Михайловский дворец

Дворцы и ансамбли

Ансамбль площади Искусств

Дворцы и ансамбли

Ансамбль Манежной площади

Сады и парки

Екатерининский сквер

Проект «Открытый город»

Российская национальная библиотека

Знаменитые здания

Александринский театр

Дворцы и ансамбли

Ансамбль улицы Зодчего Росси

Дворцы и ансамбли

Ансамбль площади Ломоносова

Еще 12 +

Что вас ожидает?

Маршрут начинается на Сенатской площади, у зданий Сената и Синода. Арка между ними, по замыслу зодчего, была призвана символизировать единство государства и церкви. Сейчас здание Сената занимает Конституционный суд, а здание Синода  — Президентская библиотека имени  Ельцина.

Ваш путь лежит вдоль Адмиралтейской набережной парадной пристани со львами – творению Карла Росси. Интересно, что исторически пристань располагалась чуть выше по течению – там, где сегодня Дворцовый мост.

Ансамбль Дворцовой площади – главной парадной площади Петербурга — сформировался в 1820-х годах, когда по проекту Росси был возведен комплекс зданий Главного штаба. Сегодня в восточном крыле Главного штаба размещены экспозиции Государственного Эрмитажа. Два крыла, полукругом охватывающие площадь и соединённые триумфальной аркой — один из самых знаменитых «открыточных» видов города. Но перейдите реку Мойку и взгляните на восточное крыло здания со стороны Капеллы, и перед вами откроется необычная картина — острый, практически двухмерный угол фасада, напоминающий нос корабля.

По набережной Мойки дойдите до места, где она соединяется с каналом Грибоедова, и вы увидите Трехмостье — уникальную инженерную конструкцию из трех частей: Мало-Конюшенный и Театральный мосты, а также Ложный мост-дамба. Автор Трехмостья — инженер В.К. фон Треттер, а проект перепланировки этой территории принадлежит Росси, он составлен в рамках строительства Михайловского дворца, который у вас еще впереди.

А вот классический трехэтажный дом, расположенный рядом с мостами и выполненный в характерной для Росси желто-белой гамме, построен не Росси, а совсем другим архитектором — Доменико Адамини.

Обогнув храм Спаса-на-Крови, войдите в Михайловский сад, по замыслу великого зодчего созданный при Михайловском дворце. Гуляя по саду, обратите внимание на павильон Росси с дорической сквозной колоннадой и полуротондой и на изящный чугунный мостик Росси через протоку, соединившую два пруда.

В Михайловском дворце сегодня располагается Государственный Русский музей. Как и сам дворец, так и ансамбль площади Искусств, на которую он выходит главным фасадом, были спроектированы Росси. Он же составил проекты всех выходящих на площадь зданий в едином стиле, и в дальнейшем этого стиля придерживались другие архитекторы, которые застраивали площадь.

На соседней Манежной площади вы увидите здания Михайловского манежа и конюшен. Они были построены архитектором Винченцо Бренна как часть комплекса зданий Михайловского замка. Молодой Карл Росси, как мы помним, помогал своему учителю в этом проекте, а 1823–1824 годах он перестроил манеж и конюшни, связав их фасады в единую композицию.

Малая Садовая улица выведет вас к площади Островского. В XIX веке площадь называлась Александринской по ее доминанте — величественному ампирному зданию Александринского театра. Авторству Карла Росси, кроме театра, принадлежит также одно из зданий Российской национальной библиотеки, выходящее на площадь главным фасадом.

До середины XVIII века эти земли занимала усадьба Аничкова дворца. В 1820-х годах К.И. Росси создал проект перепланировки территории усадьбы. Он включал в себя возведение театра, создание двух площадей — Александринской и Чернышёвой (ныне площадь Ломоносова) и застройку проезда от театра к Чернышёвой площади.

Именно этот проезд и стал улицей, которая в XX веке получила имя Зодчего Росси (историческое название — Театральная). Улица уникальна своим точным следованием античным канонам: ширина равна высоте образующих ее зданий, а длина — ровно в десять раз больше. Длина улицы — 220 метров, ширина и высота зданий — 22 метра.

По улице Зодчего Росси вы выходите на площадь Ломоносова с ее классическими зданиями двух министерств и дирекции Императорских театров. Здесь и завершается ваш маршрут.