Palace

The ensemble of the Manezhnaya Square

Address

Manezhnaya Square

Daily

Years of foundation

1798-1800 and 1823-1824

Architects

V.F. Brenna, K.I. Rossi

Style

Empire

The emergence of the Manezhnaya Square is associated with the construction of the Mikhailovsky Castle, founded in 1797 by the decree of Emperor Paul I and became the place of his murder in 1801. To the south of the castle in 1798-1800, according to the project of architect V.F. Brenna stables and an arena, a building for the teaching of soldiers and military exercises, were built.

In 1823-1824, Carl Rossi reconstructed these buildings. The facades of the stables and the arena were linked together. United monolithic stone fences, they form a single composition. The facades of the buildings are decorated with bas-reliefs depicting weapons and armor.

The ensemble of the square was formed in the XIX-early XX century with the construction of the Caravan and Italian streets. In the center of the square was a landscape garden, which, in 1878, by the design of the architect V.A. Kenel was turned into a triangular square with a round pool and a fountain. In 1908, at the end of the Maple Alley, the building of the officer corps of His Imperial Majesty's convoy was built, which completed the architectural appearance of the Manege Square.

The square and the fountain in the center of the square were restored in 1999. And in 2003 there appeared busts of the great architects of St. Petersburg: K. Rossi, F. Rastrelli, D. Quarenghi. Sculptures are presented as a gift in honor of his 300th anniversary of St. Petersburg from the Italian sister city of Milan.

Архитектурный ансамбль

Ансамбль Манежной площади

Адрес

Манежная площадь

Ежедневно

Возникновение Манежной площади связано с возведением Михайловского замка, заложенного в 1797 по указу императора Павла I и ставшего местом его убийства в 1801 году. К югу от замка в 1798–1800 годах по проекту архитектора В.Ф. Бренна были построены конюшни и Михайловский манеж — здание для учения солдат и военных упражнений.

В 1823-1824 годах Карл Росси провел реконструкцию этих зданий. Лицевые фасады конюшен и манежа были связаны воедино. Соединенные монолитными каменными оградами, они образуют единую композицию. Фасады зданий украшены барельефами с изображением оружия и доспехов.

Ансамбль площади сложился в XIX – начале XX века с застройкой Караванной и Итальянской улиц. В центре площади был разбит пейзажный сад, который в 1878 году по проекту архитектора В.А. Кенеля превратился в треугольный сквер с круглым бассейном и фонтаном. В 1908 году в конце Кленовой аллеи было возведено здание Офицерского корпуса Его Императорского Величества конвоя, которое и завершило архитектурный облик Манежной площади.

Сквер и фонтан  в центре площади были отреставрированы в 1999 году. А в 2003 году здесь появились бюсты великих архитекторов Санкт-Петербурга: К. Росси, Ф. Растрелли, Д. Кваренги. Скульптуры преподнесены в дар в честь его 300-летия Петербурга от итальянского города-побратима Милана.