Palace

The ensemble of the Senate Square

Address

Senate Square

Daily

Years of foundation

1704

Architects

K.I. Rossi

Style

classicism

The history of the square dates back to 1704, its construction began with the construction of the Admiralty building.

The area adjoins the western part of the Alexander Garden, and from the northwest is bounded by the Admiralty embankment. Here the buildings of the Senate and the Synod (Bestuzhev-Ryumin mansion), connected by a triumphal arch over Galernaya Street, are situated.

The first building on the site of the current buildings of the Senate and the Synod was the half-timbered house of the most brilliant Prince Menshikov. In 1744, this piece of land was granted by Elizaveta Petrovna hto the Chancellor A.P. Bestuzhev-Ryumin, for whom the building was erected in the Baroque style.

The world-famous building of the Senate and the Synod was built in 1829-1834 in the style of late classicism, designed by the architect K.I. Rossi. According to the architect, the arch was designed to symbolize the unity of the state and the church. Now the Senate building is occupied by the Constitutional Court, and the building of the Synod is the Presidential Library named after B.N. Yeltsin.

The main tone in the architectural decision of the square is set by the Bronze Horseman, the proud silhouette of Peter the Great on horseback, trampling a snake, which was created by the outstanding French sculptor Etienne Falcone at the direction of Catherine II. Peter's head was made by Marie Anne Collot, Falcone's student, and the Russian master Fedor Gordeev created the snake. The monument was opened in 1782.

In 1923, the Senate Square was renamed to the Decembrists Square in memory of the December insurrection of 1825. Only in 2008, it got its historical name back - Senate.

Архитектурный ансамбль

Ансамбль Сенатской площади

Адрес

Сенатская площадь

Ежедневно

История площади берет начало в 1704 году, ее застройка началась вместе со строительством здания Адмиралтейства.

Площадь примыкает к западной части Александровского сада, а с северо-запада ограничена Адмиралтейской набережной. Здесь находятся здания Сената и Синода (особняк Бестужева-Рюмина), соединенные триумфальной аркой над Галерной улицей.

Первой постройкой на месте нынешних зданий Сената и Синода стоял фахверковый дом светлейшего князя Меншикова. В 1744 году этот участок земли был пожалован Елизаветой Петровной канцлеру А.П. Бестужеву-Рюмину, для которого возвели постройку в стиле барокко.

Всемирно известное здание Сената и Синода было возведено в 1829–1834 годы в стиле позднего классицизма по проекту архитектора К.И. Росси. По замыслу зодчего, арка была призвана символизировать единство государства и церкви. Сейчас здание Сената занимает Конституционный суд, а здание Синода  — Президентская библиотека имени Б.Н. Ельцина.

Основной тон в архитектурном решении площади задает Медный всадник – гордый силуэт Петра Великого на коне, топчущем змею, был создан выдающимся французским скульптором Этьеном Фальконе по указанию Екатерины II. Голову Петра изготовила Мари Анн Колло, ученица Фальконе, а змею вылепил русский мастер Федор Гордеев. Монумент был открыт в 1782 году.

В 1923 году Сенатскую площадь переименовали в площадь  Декабристов в память о декабрьском восстании 1825 года. Лишь в 2008 году ей было возвращено историческое название — Сенатская.