Church

The Znamenskaya Old Believer Church

Address

Tverskaya st., 8

Category

Churches

Daily

Years of foundation

1906–1907

Architect

DA A. Kryzhanovskiy

Style

Pskov-Novgorod with elements of Art Nouveau

Active Orthodox church of the Nevsky Old Believers' Pomeranian Community

The Church of the Sign of the Sacred Virgin was founded in 1906 and consecrated in 1908. The construction of the church was carried out by the designs and under the supervision of the artist and architect D.A. Kryzhanovskiy.

The church has Pskov-Novgorod features with elements of the modernist style. Copper roof with patina of golden brown color and the facade performed in milky-white color make the church’s architecture especially grandeur. The site is surrounded by a rather blind fence, which makes it resembling a monastery. Crosses and icons are installed over the entrance and at the head of the church. The interior of the church is strict and ascetic: there are walls without painting, an oak parquet, huge doors with glass transoms, and dark bronze lamps.

The church is a unique construction with regard to engineering. It was provided with its own boiler room and steam heating. There are ventilation ducts in the walls, piercing the walls and accumulating heat, which serve as a stove.  There are also mechanically opening sinuses inside the main onion-shaped cupola for ventilation.

In 1933 the church was closed. Later, in the Soviet period, the church was transferred to the plant. The building has been redeveloped.

In 1999, the Znamenskaya church received the status of a monument of architecture of federal significance.  In 2005 it was transferred to the Nevskaya Old Believers' Pomeranian community. The opening of the Church of the Sign of the Sacred Virgin after the restoration took place in 2007.

Храм

Знаменская старообрядческая церковь

Адрес

Тверская улица, 8

Категория

Храмы

Ежедневно

Год постройки

1906–1907

Архитектор

Д. А. Крыжановский

Стиль

псковско-новгородский с элементами модерна

Храмы /

Церковь Знамения Пресвятой Богородицы была заложена в 1906 году и освящена в 1908 году. Строительство Храма велось по плану и под наблюдением художника и архитектора Д. А. Крыжановского.

Храм имеет псковско-новгородские черты с элементами модерна. Медная кровля с патиной золотисто-коричневого цвета и молочно-белый цвет фасада придают архитектуре особое величие. Участок обнесен достаточно глухим забором, что делает его схожим по виду с монастырем. Над входом и на главках установлены кресты и иконы. Интерьер церкви строгий, аскетичный: стены без росписи, дубовый паркет, огромные двери со стеклянными фрамугами, темно-бронзовые светильники.

С точки зрения инженерии храм представляет собой уникальный объект. В нем была предусмотрена своя котельная и паровое отопление. Также имеются вентиляционные каналы в стенах, пронизывающие стены и аккумулирующие тепло, играющие роль печки, и механически открывающиеся пазухи внутри главной луковицы для проветривания.

В 1933 году храм был закрыт. Позднее в советское время он перешел в ведение завода, здание претерпело перепланировку.

В 1999 году Знаменская церковь получила статус памятника архитектуры федерального значения, а в 2005 году была передана Невской Старообрядческой Поморской общине. Открытие Храма Знамения Пресвятой Богородицы после реставрации состоялось в 2007 году.