Palace

The Winter Palace

Address

Palace Square, 2/38

Monday

Day off

Tuesday, Thursday, Weekend

10:30 – 18:00

Wednesday, Friday

10:30 – 21:00

Years of foundation

1754–1762

Architects

FB Rastrelli

Style

baroque

Ticket price

for adult visitors - 400 rubles, for foreign tourists - 700 rubles. Preferential categories of citizens are free.

The elegant, monumental Winter palace, which was constructed by order of Empress Elizabeth, is a striking monument of the Baroque style and a brilliant example of the synthesis of architecture and decorative plastic art. All the facades are embellished by a two-tier colonnade. Forming a complex rhythm of verticals, the columns soar upwards, and this motion embraces the numerous statues and vases on the roof. The abundance of molded decoration - fanciful cornices and window architraves, mascarons, cartouches, rocailles and a variety of pediments - creates an extremely rich play of light and shade that invest the building's appearance with magnificence.

Developing upon one and the same architectural motif, Rastrelli gave each of the four facades of the palace a different structural rhythm. The southern facade, overlooking the square, has a solemn grandeur. Here the architect pierced the building with three arches to create a grand entrance into the courtyard and accentuated it with the vertical elements of paired columns. The majestic northern facade, giving the impression of an endless colonnade, faces the broad expanse of the Neva. The western facade, across from the Admiralty, is reminiscent of the composition of a countryside palace with a small courtyard. The monumental eastern facade with its massive side blocks forming a large cour d'honneur is turned to Millionnaya Street, where the mansions of the nobility stood.

For 150 years the palace served as an imperial residence. In November 1917, after the October Revolution, it was declared a museum. The expositions placed in the palace include grand halls and chambers, collections of the antiquities of Eurasia and the East, as well as collections of European and Eastern paintings, sculptures and decorative art works.

Архитектурный ансамбль

Зимний дворец (Эрмитаж)

Адрес

Дворцовая площадь, 2/38

Понедельник

Выходной

Вторник, Четверг, Выходные дни

10:30 – 18:00

Среда, Пятница

10:30 – 21:00

Год постройки

1754–1762

Архитекторы

Ф. Б. Растрелли

Стиль

Барокко

Стоимость билетов

для взрослых посетителей – 400 рублей, для иностранных туристов – 700 рублей. Льготные категории граждан – бесплатно.

Дворцы и ансамбли /

Ближайшие события

Выставка

15 / 02 / 2020 — 01 / 10 / 2020

Сокровище персидской принцессы: китайское фарфоровое блюдо из коллекции Аль-Тани

Монументальный и нарядный Зимний дворец, возведенный по заказу императрицы Елизаветы Петровны, – яркий памятник стиля барокко, пример синтеза архитектуры и декоративной пластики. Все фасады здания украшены двухъярусной колоннадой. Образуя сложный ритм вертикалей, колонны устремляются вверх, и это движение подхватывается многочисленными статуями и вазами на крыше. Обилие лепных украшений – о причудливых карнизов и наличников окон, маскаронов, картушей и рокайлей, разорванных фронтонов – создает богатейшую игру света и тени, придает облику здания особое великолепие.

Развивая один и тот же архитектурный мотив, Растрелли создал все четыре фасада дворца различными по ритму построения. Торжественен южный фасад, обращенный к площади. Здесь архитектор, прорезав фасад тремя арками, устроил парадный проезд во двор и акцентировал его вертикалями парных колонн. Величавый северный фасад, создающий впечатление бесконечной колоннады, обращен к широкой глади Невы. Западный фасад, смотрящий на Адмиралтейство, напоминает композицию загородного дворца с небольшим парадным двором. Монументальный восточный фасад с массивными боковыми корпусами, образующими большой парадный двор, обращен в сторону Миллионной улицы, где находились особняки знати.

На протяжении 150 лет дворец являлся парадной императорской резиденцией. В ноябре 1917 года он был объявлен музеем. Экспозиции, расположенные во дворце, представляют парадные залы и апартаменты, коллекции древностей Евразии и Востока, а также собрания живописи, скульптуры и декоративно-прикладного искусства Европы и Востока.