Famous building

Residential complex of the Basin Partnership

Address

Nekrasova st., 58-60 / Greek pr., 10-12

Category

Famous buildings

Daily

Years of foundation

1912–1914

Architects

A.I. Zazersky, E.F. Wierrich, N.V. Vasiliev, A.F. Bubyr

Style

Northern Art Nouveau

The residential complex of the Basin Partnership can be recognized by the decoration with Assyrian motifs - this is the only such building in St. Petersburg. The house occupies a whole block between Nekrasov Street (former Basseinaya), Grechesky Prospekt, Vilensky Lane and Fontannaya Street.

The names of the streets Basseynaya and Fontannaya have their own interesting history. In these places in the XVIII-XIX centuries the Ligovsky Canal ended, through which drinking water was delivered to the center of St. Petersburg, including for the fountains of the Summer Garden. The canal, built in 1718-1721 according to the project of engineer G.G. Skornyakova-Pisareva, started southwest of the city by the river League (now Duderhofka) and led here to the artificial pool on the corner of Basseynaya Street, and then the water flowed into the Summer Garden through pipes. On September 10, 1777, the fountains of the Summer Garden were destroyed, the canal lost its significance, however, it existed until the beginning of the 20th century. Now Ligovsky Prospect runs along the canal.

But back to the house of the Basin Partnership. Until 1908, on this site were the wooden buildings of the Life Guards Preobrazhensky Regiment and the wooden theater "Olympia", where operas and operettas were staged. Sobinov and Vyaltseva sang here. At the beginning of the 20th century, the theater burned down.

In 1909, engineer A.I. Zazersky organized a “Partnership for the Installation of Permanent Apartments” to combat housing needs. The development plan for the site facing Nekrasova Street and Grechesky Prospekt, together with Zazersky, was developed by architect E.F. Wierrich, architects N.V. Vasiliev and A.F. Bubyr, as well as V.N. Pyasetskiy participated in the construction - it was from his drawings that Assyrian reliefs on the facades were created.

The facades of a gray six-story house in the Northern Art Nouveau style are solved in asymmetric large forms with a rustication of the lower floors.

The house was intended for the middle class and was equipped with the latest at that time word of science and technology. The project included elevators not only on the main but also on the back stairs, central water heating and hot water supply, central ventilation and a central dust suction station, a mechanized laundry room.

The premises on the ground floor housed shops, and in the seventh, attic, floor - a hall for general meetings of members of the cooperative.

In 1914-1922, the poetess Irina Odoevtseva lived in this house, the house is described in her book "On the Neva." Nikolai Gumilev and George Ivanov were guests here.

Достопримечательность

Жилой комплекс Бассейного товарищества

Адрес

ул. Некрасова, 58-60 / Греческий пр., 10-12

Ежедневно

Год постройки

1912–1914

Архитектор

А.И. Зазерский, Э.Ф. Виррих, Н.В. Васильев, А.Ф. Бубырь,

Стиль

Северный модерн

Жилой комплекс Бассейного товарищества можно узнать по декору с ассирийскими мотивами – это единственное подобное здание в Петербурге. Дом занимает целый квартал между улицей Некрасова (бывшей Бассейной), Греческим проспектом,  Виленским переулком и Фонтанной улицей.

Названия улиц Бассейная и Фонтанная имеют свою интересную историю. В этих местах в XVIIIXIX веках заканчивался Лиговский канал, по которому доставлялась питьевая вода в центр  Петербурга и, в том числе, для фонтанов Летнего сада. Канал, построенный в 1718–1721 годах по проекту инженера Г.Г. Скорнякова-Писарева, начинался к юго-западу от города у реки Лиги (ныне Дудергофка) и вел сюда, к искусственному бассейну на углу Бассейной улицы, а дальше вода поступала в Летний сад по трубам. 10 сентября 1777 года фонтаны Летнего сада были разрушены, канал утратил свое значение, однако он просуществовал до начала XX века. Сейчас по трассе канала проходит Лиговский проспект.

Но вернемся к дому Бассейного товарищества. До 1908 года на этом участке находились деревянные постройки лейб-гвардии Преображенского полка и деревянный театр «Олимпия», где ставились оперы и оперетты. Здесь пели Собинов и Вяльцева. В начале XX века театр сгорел.

В 1909 году инженер А.И. Зазерский организовал «Товарищество для устройства постоянных квартир» для борьбы с жилищной нуждой. План застройки участка, выходящего на улицу Некрасова и Греческий проспект, вместе с Зазерским, разрабатывал архитектор Э.Ф. Виррих, в строительстве участвовали архитекторы Н.В. Васильев и А.Ф. Бубырь, а также В.Н. Пясецкий — именно по его рисункам созданы ассирийские рельефы на фасадах.

Фасады серого шестиэтажного дома в стиле северный модерн решены в асимметричных крупных формах с рустовкой нижних этажей.

Дом предназначался для среднего класса и был оснащен по последнему на тот момент слову науки и техники. Проект предусматривал лифты не только на парадных, но и на черных лестницах, центральное водяное отопление и горячее водоснабжение, централизованную вентиляцию и центральную пылевысасывательную станцию, механизированную прачечную.

В помещениях первого этажа размещались магазины, а в седьмом, мансардном, этаже — зал для общих собраний членов кооператива.

В 1914–1922 годах в этом доме жила поэтесса Ирина Одоевцева, дом описан в ее книге «На берегах Невы». Здесь бывали Николай Гумилев и Георгий Иванов.