Famous building

The building of the Catherine's Public Assembly

Address

Can. Griboyedov Emb., 88-90

Category

Famous buildings

Years of foundation

1905–1907

Architects

О.Р. Munz, N.V. Smirnov

Style

modern

The house on the Griboyedov Canal was built at the beginning of the 20th century for the St. Petersburg First Public Assembly, which was founded in 1790, and in 1906 it received a new name - the Catherine's Assembly.

The building of Catherine's Assembly, located on a corner plot having the shape of a trapezoid, the main northern facade emerges on the red line of the embankment of the canal. Western facade, not less decorated - on the Middle Podyac street. From the side of the canal, the house is two-story, from the side of the street - three-story, partly with an attic. The composition of the roofs adjacent to each other has a complex configuration. Above the front staircase a light lantern stands. The cut-off corner is completed by a tower with a dome and a spire.

The meeting was a closed club for leisure activities. The house had a large theatrical hall for 700 seats at that time. From the very beginning, it was planned to set up a theater here. Originally it was the Catherine Theater, and in December 1908, the famous theater of political satire "Crooked Mirror" was opened here.

Art interior decoration was preserved only in a few rooms of the meeting, the rest is lost. Now it is a dwelling house.

Достопримечательность

Здание Екатерининского общественного собрания

Адрес

наб. кан. Грибоедова, 88–90

Год постройки

1905–1907 годы

Архитектор

О.Р. Мунц, Н.В. Смирнов

Стиль

модерн

Дом на канале Грибоедова построен в начале ХХ века для Санкт-Петербургского Первого общественного собрания, которое было основано в 1790 году, а в 1906 году  получило новое название — Екатерининское собрание.

Здание Екатерининского собрания, расположенное на угловом участке, имеющем форму трапеции, главным северным фасадом выходит на красную линию набережной канала. Западным фасадом, не менее богато оформленным — на Среднюю Подъяческую улицу. Со стороны канала дом двухэтажный, со стороны улицы — трехэтажный, частично с мансардой. Композиция примыкающих друг к другу крыш имеет сложную конфигурацию. Над парадной лестницей возвышается световой фонарь. Срезанный угол завершен башней с куполом и шпилем.

Собрание представляло собой закрытый клуб для проведения досуга. В доме был большой по тем временам театральный зал на 700 мест. С самого начала предполагалось устроить здесь театр. Первоначально это был Екатерининский театр, а в декабре 1908 года здесь открылся знаменитый театр политической сатиры «Кривое зеркало».

Художественная отделка интерьеров сохранилась лишь в немногих помещениях собрания, остальное утрачено.  Теперь в здании располагаются государственные структуры.