Famous building

Assignation Bank building

Address

Sadovaya Str. 21 / emb. Can. Griboyedov., 30

Category

Famous buildings

Daily

Years of foundation

1783—1790

Architects

J. Quarenghi

Style

classicism

The building was built according to the project of Giacomo Quarenghi specifically for the placement of the state Assignation Bank of the Russian Empire. The bank was established in 1769 by Catherine II to issue paper money (bank notes) instead of silver coins.

Coins were brought to the storerooms on barges along Catherine's canal from the Mint of the Peter and Paul Fortress.

The building, semi-circular in plan, occupied a large section between Sadovaya Street and the Catherine Canal. The central building was intended for direct operation of the bank. One-story galleries connected it with side hulls-storerooms to store money.

The artistic cast-iron fence on the side of Sadovaya Street, made according to the drawing of Quarenghi, was established in 1791. In 1817, from the side of the Catherine Canal, a cast-iron fence was built according to the project of Luigi Rusca. By the example of this fence in 1826, a lattice of handrails of the nearby Bank Bridge across the Catherine Canal was created.

In 1843, state loans were introduced and the bank was closed, and in 1849 the State Russian Bank began operating in this building. In the 1860s, worn out paper money was publicly burned in the iron pavilions in the courtyard of the bank from Sadovaya Street side. This attracted a lot of attention from the townspeople.

Since 1930, the St. Petersburg State University of Economics and Finance is located here. The original interiors are now preserved in the lobby and on the main staircase. In 1967, in the courtyard of the building, on the side of Sadovaya Street, a bust of Giacomo Quarenghi was installed.

Достопримечательность

Здание Ассигнационного банка

Адрес

Садовая ул., 21 / наб. кан. Грибоедова., 30

Ежедневно

Год постройки

1783—1790 годы

Архитектор

Дж. Кваренги

Стиль

классицизм

Здание построено по проекту Джакомо Кваренги специально для размещения государственного Ассигнационного банка Российской империи. Банк был учрежден в 1769 году Екатериной II для выпуска бумажных денег (ассигнаций) вместо серебряных монет.

Монеты в кладовые привозили на баржах по Екатерининскому каналу из Монетного двора Петропавловской крепости.

Здание, полукруглое в плане, заняло большой участок между Садовой улицей и Екатерининским каналом. Центральный корпус был предназначен для непосредственной работы банка. Одноэтажные галереи соединяли его с боковыми корпусами-кладовыми для хранения денег.

Художественную чугунную ограду со стороны Садовой улицы, выполненную по рисунку Кваренги, установили в 1791 году. В 1817 году со стороны Екатерининского канала соорудили чугунную ограду по проекту Луиджи Руска. По образцу этой ограды  в 1826 году была создана решетка перил расположенного рядом Банковского моста через Екатерининский канал.

В 1843 году в обиход ввели государственные кредитные билеты, и банк закрылся, а в 1849 году в этом здании начал работу Государственный российский банк.  В 1860-х годах во дворе банка со стороны Садовой улицы в железных павильонах публично сжигали износившиеся бумажные деньги. Это привлекало большое внимание горожан.

С 1930 года здесь располагается Санкт-Петербургский государственный университет экономики и финансов. Оригинальные интерьеры сегодня сохранились в вестибюле и на главной лестнице. В 1967 году во дворе здания, со стороны Садовой улицы, установили бюст Джакомо Кваренги.