Church

Resurrection Cathedral

Address

Moskovsky prospect, 100

Category

Churches

Daily

09:00 – 19:00

Years of foundation

1849–1861

Architect

N.Efimov

Style

Russian-Byzantine

Active Orthodox church

The five-domed two-story Resurrection Cathedral is the architectural dominant of the ensemble of the Novodevichy Convent. The temple was built in the Russian-Byzantine style at the initial stage of its development according to the project of architect N.E. Efimov and engineer N.A. Sychev. Outwardly, the cathedral resembles the Vladimir-Suzdal temples of the 15th century.

The five-domed cathedral was crowned with a large golden dome and four small ones on high drums. Two-story building of the cathedral, standing on a high socle foundation, is turned towards the avenue by a high arched portal.

Icons for the cathedral were written by Academician G.I. Yakovlev and nuns under his direction. Initially, the walls were painted images of the Scriptures. During the repair in 1899 all the dilapidated painting was destroyed; to this day only fragments of decorative painting, relating to the repair of 1914-1916, have survived. They are gold ornaments made on a blue background.

In 1932 the cathedral was closed. In 2001 the temple was returned to the church, then the revival of the architectural complex of the Novodevichy Convent began. The Resurrection Cathedral needed complete reconstruction, in 2007 it was newly consecrated. The final stage of the restoration of the temple was the work on his painting. The interior is completely rebuilt.

Храм

Воскресенский собор

Адрес

Московский проспект, 100

Категория

Храмы

Ежедневно

09:00 – 19:00

Год постройки

1849–1861

Архитектор

Н. Ефимов

Стиль

русско-византийский

Храмы /

Пятиглавый двухэтажный Воскресенский собор — архитектурная доминанта ансамбля Новодевичьего женского монастыря. Храм построен в русско-византийском стиле на начальном этапе его развития по проекту архитектора Н. Е. Ефимова и инженера Н. А. Сычёва. Внешне собор напоминает Владимиро-Суздальские храмы XV века. 

Пятиглавый собор был увенчан большим золотым куполом и четырьмя малыми на высоких барабанах. Двухэтажное здание собора, стоящее на высоком цокольном фундаменте, обращено к проспекту высоким арочным порталом.

Иконы для собора писали академик Г. И. Яковлев и монахини под его руководством. Первоначально на стенах были написаны изображения на сюжеты Священного писания. Во время ремонта в 1899 году вся обветшавшая живопись была уничтожена; до наших дней дошли лишь фрагменты декоративной живописи, относящиеся к ремонту 1914–1916 годов. Они представляют собой золотые орнаменты, выполненные на голубом фоне.

В 1932 году собор закрыли. В 2001 году храм возвращен церкви, тогда же началось возрождение архитектурного комплекса Новодевичьего монастыря. Воскресенский собор нуждался в полной реконструкции, в 2007 году он был заново освящен.  Заключительным этапом восстановления храма стали работы по его росписи. Внутреннее убранство целиком создается заново.