Church

Vladimir Cathedral

Address

Vladimirsky ave.,20

Category

Churches

Daily

Years of foundation

1761—1769

Architect

Chr. Knobel, PA Trezini, J. Quarenghi, A. I. Melnikov, F. I. Ruska, A. L. Golm

Style

transitional from baroque to classicism

Active Orthodox church

The Cathedral of the Vladimir Icon of the Mother of God is one of the architectural monuments of the second half of the XVIII century. Like many other churches in St. Petersburg, this cathedral was built on a site where its wooden predecessor used to stand. The wooden church, built and consecrated in 1747 in honor of the Vladimir Icon of the Mother of God, at some extent, became a prototype for the subsequent construction of churches in St. Petersburg.

In 1756, Empress Elizaveta Petrovna acceded to the requests of parishioners and allowed the inhabitants of the court settlements to collect money for the construction of a stone church. Plans and drawings of the new church were ready in 1759, but the laying of the foundation began only in 1761. The church was finally built and consecrated in 1783. In the same year, the construction of a separate three-tiered bell tower under the project of architect Giacomo Quarenghi was completed.

There are no records left in the archives about the name of the author of the stone church designs. Legend has it that the initial project of the church was made by F.B. Rastrelli.

As for the architecture, the cathedral is a two-tiered cross-domed, four-legged, five-domed building with two floors, three vestibules and an apse. The most part of the cathedral is in the shape of a square with cut corners. From the west, the refectory and the porch with stairs leading to the second floor are attached to the main part of the building.  On high round-shaped drums there are domes crowned with onion-shaped cupolas. The middle drum is crowned with a bell-shaped dome. The exterior of the church is designed in Baroque. The facades are decorated with Corinthian columns. The window openings are adorned with molded decors. The northern and southern facades are decorated with spitted arches. On the north-west and south-west corners of the church site there are stone chapels also made in the Baroque style. To the north of the cathedral there is a bell tower with facades designed in the style of classicism.

The cathedral and the bell tower play an important role in urban planning. Monumental in its size, the building of the Cathedral of the Vladimir Icon of the Mother of God closes the perspective of Zagorodny Avenue and retains significant being a dominant piece of architecture in the area of the Vladimir Square.

Храм

Владимирский собор

Адрес

Владимирский проспект, 20

Категория

Храмы

Ежедневно

Год постройки

1761—1769

Архитектор

Хр. Кнобель, П. А. Трезини, Дж. Кваренги, А. И. Мельников, Ф. И. Руска, А. Л. Гольм

Стиль

переходный от барокко к классицизму

Собор Владимирской иконы Божией Матери принадлежит к архитектурным памятникам второй половины XVIII века. Как и многие петербургские храмы, нынешний собор возник на месте деревянной предшественницы. Заложенная и освященная в 1747 году деревянная церковь в честь Владимирской иконы Божией Матери в известном смысле стала прототипом для последующего церковного строительства в северной столице.

В 1756 году императрица Елизавета Петровна, уступив просьбам прихожан, разрешила обывателям придворных слобод собирать деньги на строительство каменного храма. Планы и чертежи новой церкви были готовы уже в 1759 году, но к закладке фундамента приступили только в 1761 году. Церковь была окончательно устроена и освящена в 1783 году. В том же году по проекту архитектора Джакомо Кваренги было закончено строительство отдельно стоящей трёхъярусной колокольни. Архивные документы не сохранили имя автора проекта каменного храма. Преданием первоначальный проект приписывается Ф. Б. Растрелли.

По своей архитектуре собор представляет собой двухъярусное крестово-купольное, четырехстопное, пятиглавое, двухэтажное здание, с тремя притворами и апсидой. Основной объем собора имеет в плане форму квадрата со срезанными углами. С запада к основному объему примыкает помещение трапезной и притвор с лестницами, ведущими на второй этаж. Купола храма покоятся на высоких круглых барабанах, увенчанных луковицами. Средний барабан увенчан куполом колоколообразной формы. Наружное убранство храма выполнено в стиле барокко. Фасады декорированы коринфскими колоннами, оконные проемы оформлены лепным декором, а северный и южный фасады — разорванными лучковыми арками. На северо-западном и юго-западном углах участка расположены каменные часовни, также выполненные в стиле барокко. К северу от здания собора находится колокольня, фасады которой решены в стиле классицизма.

Собор и колокольня играют большую градостроительную роль. Монументальное по своим размерам здание Собора Владимирской иконы Божией Матери замыкает перспективу Загородного проспекта и поныне сохраняет значение архитектурной доминанты района Владимирской площади.