Famous building

Vitebsk railway station

Address

Zagorodny prospect, 52

Category

Famous buildings

Daily

Years of foundation

1902-1904

Architects

S.A. Brzhozovsky, engineer S.I. Minash

Style

Modern

Vitebsk railway station is the most beautiful in St. Petersburg, it excites visitors by its architecture and interior decoration.

The first railroad in Russia from St. Petersburg to Tsarskoe Selo was built in 1836-1837. In the first years, a small wooden structure where the Pushkinskaya metro station is now located served as a station. In 1849-1852, the stone building of the station was built according to the architect Konstantin Ton.

Finally, in 1902-1904, according to the project of academician of architecture, Stanislav Brzhozovsky with the participation of the engineer Sima Minash, the modern Tsarskoselsky (now Vitebsk) railway station appeared. This was the first public building in St. Petersburg, built in the Art Nouveau style.

The vertical dominants of the building are the clock tower with the image of owls and the entrance hall with a metal dome. The main facade is north, overlooking the Zagorodny Prospekt, extending from the clock tower from the left to the lobby and a semi-circular passage to the western facade, to the right. The landing room has an arched ceiling, its elegant iron riveted designs are decorated with floral decor.

The lobby - the main hall of the station complex with a ceiling height of more than twenty meters - is crowned with a metal dome. The main dominant of the hall is the grand staircase with marble handrails and bronze inserts, in the span of which there is a bust to Emperor Nicholas I. In the halls, there are panels with images of the history of the Tsarskoye Selo railway, the Peter and Paul Fortress and the port of Odessa. Almost all the constructions of the station building are decorated with artistic forging.

To the 300th anniversary of the Northern Capital, the restoration of the station complex was carried out: the dome was restored and the molded ornament was recreated, the imperial cafe was recreated and the metal decor was restored, the elements of the original project were restored according to the preserved historical documentation.

On August 1, 2014, on the day of the 100th anniversary of Russia's entry into the First World War, a monument to the Russian Guard of the Great War was opened in front of the station. The monument is dedicated to Russian soldiers who went to the front from Tsarskoye Selo (now Vitebsk) railway station. This is a three-dimensional cross with a bas-relief on which soldiers are depicted in the train carriageway. Its authors are sculptors Alexey Ignatov and Mikhail Pereyaslavets.

Достопримечательность

Витебский вокзал

Адрес

Загородный пр., 52

Ежедневно

Год постройки

1902–1904 годы

Архитектор

С.А. Бржозовский, инженер С.И. Минаш

Стиль

модерн

Витебский вокзал — самый красивый в Петербурге, он восхищает своей архитектурой и внутренним убранством.

Первая в России железная дорога от Санкт-Петербурга до Царского села была построена в 1836–1837 годах и открылась 30 октября 1837 года.  В первые годы вокзалом служило небольшое деревянное строение там, где сейчас расположена станция метро Пушкинская. В 1849–1852 годах по проекту архитектора Константина Тона построили каменное здание станции.

Наконец, в 1902–1904 годах по проекту академика архитектуры Станислава Бржозовского с участием инженера Симы Минаша, был возведен современный Царскосельский (ныне Витебский) вокзал. Это было первое общественное здание в Петербурге, построенное в стиле модерн.

Вертикальные доминанты здания — часовая башня с изображением сов и вестибюль с металлическим куполом. Главный фасад – северный, выходящий на Загородный проспект — простирается от башни с часами с левой стороны до вестибюля и полукруглого перехода к западному фасаду — с правой. Дебаркадер имеет  арочное перекрытие, его элегантные железные клепаные конструкции украшены цветочным декором.

Вестибюль –  главный зал вокзального комплекса с высотой потолка более двадцати метров — увенчан металлическим куполом. Главная доминанта зала — парадная лестница с мраморными перилами и бронзовыми вставками, в пролете которой установлен бюст императору Николаю I. В залах расположены панно с изображениями истории Царскосельской железной дороги, Петропавловской крепости и порта Одессы. Почти все конструкции вокзального здания украшены художественной ковкой.

К 300-летию Северной столицы была проведена реставрация вокзального комплекса: восстановлен купол и обновлен лепной орнамент, воссоздано императорское кафе и отреставрирован металлодекор, восстановлены элементы первоначального проекта по сохранившейся исторической документации.

1 августа 2014 года, в день 100-летия вступления России в Первую мировую войну, перед вокзалом открыли памятник Русской Гвардии Великой войны. Монумент посвящен русским воинам, ушедшим на фронт с Царскосельского (ныне Витебского) вокзала. Это объемный крест с барельефом, на котором изображены воины в проеме железнодорожного вагона. Его авторы — скульпторы Алексей Игнатов и Михаил Переяславец.