Famous building

"Crosses" Prison

Address

Arsenalnaya Emb., 7

Category

Famous buildings

Daily

Years of foundation

1884–1889

Architects

V.P. Lvov, A.O. Tomishko

Style

brick

Until December 2017, there was a remand center, one of the most famous and large in Russia.

At the beginning of the XVIII century on the Arsenal embankment was located brewery. Then, at the time of Anna Ioannovna, wine cellars were built in its place, the so-called "Wine Town", where the wine stores of the whole city were kept. In 1867 the warehouses were rebuilt according to the project of architect Vladislav Lvov, director of the St. Petersburg Prison Committee: a criminal prison was established here that existed until 1886.

The current building was built in 1884-1889 by architect Antonia Tomishko. Those were two five-story buildings, cross-shaped in the plan, their shape defined the name.

The complex was set up as a single prison. It included two prison cell buildings for 960 cameras, mostly single, an administrative building with the church of St. Alexander Nevsky, houses for forwarders, a kitchen with a bakery, five hospital buildings, a sauna, a boiler room with an electric generator, a glacier, a smithy - altogether 20 buildings. In the prison, there was electric lighting, a water supply system, ventilation and water heating. At that time, according to the Chief Prison Administration, it was the most exemplary prison in Europe

The "Crosses" contained criminals and political prisoners. Among the most famous prisoners were Narodnaya Volya - Lev Trotsky, Anatoly Lunacharsky. During the February Revolution of 1917, the insurgents liberated all prisoners, and in October of the same year, the Bolsheviks concluded here the entire Provisional Government, except for the Kerensky who managed to escape.

During the Great Terror of 1937-1938, prominent representatives of Russian science and culture were imprisoned here: poets Nikolai Zabolotsky and Daniil Harms, future historian Lev Gumilev, orientalist Theodor Shumovsky, actor Georgy Zhzhenov, future marshal Konstantin Rokossovsky and many other victims of Stalinist repression.

Since 1964, "Crosses" have become an investigatory isolator number 1, here were the suspects and accused of committing crimes before the verdict of the court. The living conditions have deteriorated greatly: by the end of the 20th century, the SIZO contained far more suspects than was planned during the construction of the prison. In the cells of 8 square meters, designed for 6 people, up to 20 people were kept, so they had to take turns to sleep.

In the 21st century, it was decided to move the prison to a new location. For the "Crosses" a new building was built in Kolpino near St. Petersburg, and by December 2017 the last prisoner had left from here. In the future, it is planned to create a museum in the building.

Знаменитое здание

Тюрьма «Кресты»

Адрес

Арсенальная наб., 7

Ежедневно

Год постройки

1884–1889 годы

Архитектор

В.П. Львов, А.О. Томишко

Стиль

кирпичный

Знаменитые здания /

До декабря 2017 года здесь располагался следственный изолятор, один из самых известных и крупных в России.

В начале XVIII века на Арсенальной набережной располагался пивоваренный завод. Затем, во времена Анны Иоанновны, на его месте были устроены винные погреба, так называемый  «Винный городок»,  где хранились винные запасы всего города. В 1867 году склады были перестроены  по проекту архитектора Владислава Львова, директора Санкт-Петербургского тюремного комитета: здесь была устроена уголовная тюрьма,  просуществовавшая до 1886 года.

Нынешнее здание было построено в 1884–1889 годах по проекту архитектора Антония Томишко. Это были два пятиэтажных корпуса, крестообразных в плане, их форма и определила название.

Возводился комплекс как одиночная тюрьма. В нее входили два арестантских корпуса на 960 камер, в основном — одиночных, административный корпус с церковью Святого Александра Невского, дома для надзирателей, кухня с пекарней, пять больничных корпусов, баня, котельная с электрогенератором, ледник, кузница — всего 20 зданий. В тюрьме было электрическое освещение, система водоснабжения, вентиляция и водяное отопление. В то время, по мнению Главного тюремного управления, это была самая образцовая тюрьма в Европе

В «Крестах» содержались уголовные преступники и политические заключенные. Среди наиболее известных узников были народовольцы,  Лев Троцкий, Анатолий Луначарский. Во время февральской революции 1917 года восставшие освободили всех заключённых, а в октябре того же года большевики заключили сюда все Временное правительство, кроме сбежавшего Керенского.

В годы Большого террора 1937–1938 годов здесь находились в заключении видные представители отечественной науки и культуры: поэты Николай Заболоцкий и Даниил Хармс, будущий историк Лев Гумилёв, востоковед Теодор Шумовский, актёр Георгий Жжёнов, будущий маршал Константин Рокоссовский и многие другие жертвы сталинских репрессий.

С 1964 года «Кресты» стали следственным изолятором № 1 здесь сидели подозреваемые и обвиняемые  в совершении преступлений до приговора суда. Условия жизни сильно ухудшились: к концу XX века в СИЗО содержалось гораздо больше подследственных, чем планировалось при строительстве тюрьмы. В камерах на 8 квадратных метров, рассчитанных на 6 человек, держали до 20 человек, так что спать приходилось по очереди.

В XXI веке было принято решение о переносе тюрьмы на новое место. Для «Крестов» построили новое здание в Колпино под Петербургом, и к декабрю 2017 года отсюда выехал последний арестант.  В будущем здесь планируется создать музей.