Famous building

Tenishevskoe school

Address

Mokhovaya st., 33-35

Category

Famous buildings

Daily

Years of foundation

1899–1900

Architects

R.A. Bersen

Style

Modern

In 1898, an entrepreneur, scientist and philanthropist Prince Vyacheslav Nikolaevich Tenishev established the Tenishev School. At first it was a 3-grade general education school, which was located on Zagorodny Prospekt.

In 1900, the school received the status of a commercial school and moved to a new building in the Art Nouveau style at 33-35 Mokhovaya Street. The building was built specially for the school at the expense of Tenishev and designed by the architect Richard Andreevich Berzen. It was consecrated on September 21, 1900.

The training lasted 8 years (seven general and one special class) and gave graduates the right to graduate from a real school. The general course was broader than in other educational institutions; the focus was on natural science subjects,

Many outstanding scientists taught at the Tenishevsky School, among them I.M. Grevs and A.S. Lappo-Danilevsky, and the graduates of the school were the poet Osip Mandelstam, the writer Vladimir Nabokov, literary critic and linguist, academician Viktor Zhirmunsky and other outstanding Petersburgers.

The building of the school consists of two buildings connected by a glass gallery. The façade features two heavy bay windows, through which the stairs are illuminated. The removal of staircases to the main facade is a relatively rare case in Petersburg construction: more often the stairs were illuminated from the courtyard.

A wide cylindrical volume of the assembly hall for 500 seats protrudes into the courtyard. Literary and musical evenings, which became famous throughout the city, were held in this amphitheater hall. Blok, Mayakovsky, Yesenin, Akhmatova, Nikolai Gumilev, Kornei Chukovsky read their works here.

From 1921 to 1962, this building housed the Theater of Young Spectators (TYuZ), and now it houses the Educational Theater "On Mokhovaya" of the Russian State Institute of Performing Arts.

Достопримечательность

Тенишевское училище

Адрес

Моховая ул., 33-35

Ежедневно

Год постройки

1899–1900

Архитектор

Р.А. Берзен

Стиль

Модерн

Училище учредил в 1898 году предприниматель, ученый и меценат князь Вячеслав Николаевич Тенишев. Сначала это была 3-х классная общеобразовательная школа, которая располагалась на Загородном проспекте.

В 1900 году школа получила статус коммерческого училища и переехала в новое здание в стиле модерн на Моховой ул., 33-35. Здание построено специально для училища на средства Тенишева по проекту архитектора Ричарда Андреевича Берзена. 21 сентября 1900 года оно было освящено.

Обучение длилось 8 лет (семь общих и один специальный класс) и давало выпускникам права окончивших реальное училище. Общий курс был шире, чем в других учебных заведениях; основное внимание уделялось естественнонаучным предметам,

В Тенишевском училище преподавали многие выдающиеся деятели науки, среди них И.М. Гревс и А.С. Лаппо-Данилевский, а выпускниками училища были поэт Осип Мандельштам, писатель Владимир Набоков, литературовед и лингвист академик Виктор Жирмунский и другие выдающиеся петербуржцы.

Здание училища состоит из двух корпусов, соединенных стеклянной галереей. На фасаде выделяются два тяжелых эркера, через которые освещаются лестницы. Вынос лестничных клеток на главный фасад – сравнительно редкий случай в петербургском строительстве: чаще лестницы освещались со двора.

Во двор выступает широкий цилиндрический объем актового зала на 500 мест. В этом зале-амфитеатре проходили литературные и музыкальные вечера, ставшие знаменитыми на весь город. Здесь читали свои произведения Блок, Маяковский, Есенин, Ахматова, Николай Гумилев, Корней Чуковский.

С 1921 по 1962 год в этом здании располагался Театр юных зрителей (ТЮЗ), а сейчас здесь находится Учебный театр «На Моховой» Российского государственного института сценических искусств.