Famous building

Musical comedy theater

Address

Italian st., 13

Category

Famous buildings

Daily

Years of foundation

1799–1802, 1910

Architects

E.T. Sokolov, I.L. Balbashevsky (perestroika)

Style

Classicism

The building of the Musical Comedy Theater organically fits into the architectural ensemble of the Arts Square. The ensemble was created in the first third of the 19th century according to the project of K.I. Rossi, but the building in the style of early classicism was built here earlier, in 1799-1802 by the project of the architect Yegor Sokolov. The house was built for Ivan (Hovhannes) Lazarevich Lazarev - the head of the Armenian community in St. Petersburg, the initiator of the construction of the Armenian Church on Nevsky Prospect.

During the 19th century, the building underwent several renovations. In 1910, the mansion was again rebuilt according to the project of I.L. Balbashevsky, A.A. Maksimova and A.L. Bubyr. It houses the "Palace Theater", its opening took place on December 18, 1910. The theater was opened by a group of ex-waiters and presented fun, entertaining performances that were very popular. After the revolution, operettas with the participation of Leonid Utesov were performed at the Palace Theater.

The Musical Comedy Theater opened on September 17, 1929. On this day, two united operetta collectives - the Leningrad and Kharkov Musical Comedy showed on its stage one of the first Soviet operettas - "The Servant" by Nikolai Strelnikov.

At that time, the theater worked in the Alexander Garden in the building of the State People's House. In a mansion on the street. Rakova (Italyanskaya), 13, the team moved in 1938, exchanging sites with the Music Hall, which went to the Alexander Garden and still works in the former People's House.

On October 25, 1938, on the day the Musical Comedy Theater moved to its current building, the Leningrad premiere of Wedding in Malinovka to music by Boris Alexandrov took place. All 900 days of the Leningrad blockade, the theater and its staff, showing heroism, worked in the besieged city. The light and cheerful genre of operetta gave the residents of the city and the front-line soldiers minutes of rest and oblivion and faith in the coming victory.

Now the Musical Comedy Theater still preserves the traditions of the Petersburg operetta. Both classical performances and modern musicals are successfully performed on its stage.

Достопримечательность

Театр Музыкальной комедии

Адрес

Итальянская ул., 13

Ежедневно

Год постройки

1799–1802, 1910

Архитектор

Е.Т. Соколов, И.Л. Балбашевский (перестройка)

Стиль

Классицизм

Здание театра Музыкальной комедии органично вписывается в архитектурный ансамбль площади Искусств. Ансамбль создавался в первой трети XIX века по проекту К.И. Росси, но здание в стиле раннего классицизма было построено здесь раньше, в 1799–1802 годах по проекту архитектора Егора Соколова. Дом строился для Ивана (Ованеса) Лазаревича Лазарева — главы армянской общины в Петербурге, инициатора строительства Армянской церкви на Невском проспекте.

В течение XIX века здание пережило несколько реконструкций. В 1910 году особняк снова перестроили по проекту И.Л. Балбашевского, А.А. Максимова и А.Л. Бубыря. Здесь разместился «Палас-театр», его открытие состоялось 18 декабря 1910 года. Театр был открыт группой бывших официантов и показывал веселые, развлекательные спектакли, пользовавшиеся большой популярностью. После революции в «Палас-театре» шли оперетты с участием Леонида Утесова.

Театр Музыкальной комедии открылся 17 сентября 1929 года. В этот день два объединенных опереточных коллектива – Ленинградской и Харьковской Музкомедии показали на его сцене одну из первых советских оперетт — «Холопку» Николая Стрельникова.

В то время театр работал в Александровском саду в здании государственного Народного дома. В особняк на ул. Ракова (Итальянской), 13, коллектив переехал в 1938 году, поменявшись площадками с «Мюзик-Холлом», который отправился в Александровский сад и по сей день работает в бывшем Народного доме.

25 октября 1938 года в день переезда театра Музыкальной комедии в его нынешнее здание, состоялась ленинградская премьера «Свадьбы в Малиновке» на музыку Бориса Александрова. Все 900 дней Ленинградской блокады театр и его коллектив, проявляя героизм, работали в осажденном городе. Легкий и жизнерадостный жанр оперетты дарил жителям города и фронтовикам минуты отдыха и забвения и веру в грядущую победу.

Сейчас театр Музыкальной комедии по-прежнему хранит традиции петербургской оперетты. На его сцене с успехом идут и классические спектакли, и современные мюзиклы.