Famous building

Hearty market

Address

Sytninskaya st., 5А

Category

Famous buildings

Daily

08:00 – 19:00

Years of foundation

1912–1913

Architects

M.S. Lyalevich

This is the very first market in St. Petersburg. Arose spontaneously in 1705, it was originally located on Trinity Square. On July 28, 1710, a fire broke out, and Trinity Square burned down with all the buildings. The new market, called Obzhorny, was arranged on a wasteland opposite the crown of the Peter and Paul Fortress, where it is located to this day.

The origin of the name The hearty market is associated with the fact that there they traded hot food in taverns, from stalls and peddling. Later, the market was called Saturated and Sitny (based on flour, which was sifted through sieves and baked from it sieve bread). There are many legends about the origin of the name, according to one of which the first governor of St. Petersburg Menshikov usually treated himself here with hare pies and exclaimed: “How satisfying!”.

The rich market since its inception has served as one of the city platforms for publicly announcing tsar’s decrees, and in the middle of the 18th century it was also a public execution. So, on June 17, 1740, the nobles Artemy Volynsky, accused of conspiracy against Anna Ioannovna, and the architect, first builder of St. Petersburg, Peter Eropkin, were executed here.

The Petersburg side at the end of the 18th and the beginning of the 19th century was populated by poor people. At that time, the Full Market, according to contemporaries, was a miserable sight, reminiscent of a "decrepit ruin in some county town."

A new life on the Petersburg side and on the satisfying market began with the opening of the Trinity Bridge in 1903. In 1906, merchants funded a competition for the construction of a new stone building, and in 1912-1913 under the project of M.S. Lyalevich was erected a new market building, now included in the list of newly identified architectural monuments.

After the October Revolution, the market was closed. It resumed its work in 1936.

Достопримечательность

Сытный рынок

Адрес

Сытнинская ул., 5А

Ежедневно

08:00 – 19:00

Год постройки

1912–1913

Архитектор

М.С. Лялевич

Это самый первый рынок в Санкт-Петербурге. Стихийно возникший в 1705 году, он первоначально располагался Троицкой площади. 28 июля 1710 года случился пожар, и Троицкая площадь сгорела со всеми постройками. Новый рынок, получивший название Обжорный, устроили на пустыре напротив кронверка Петропавловской крепости, где он располагается и по сей день.

Происхождение названия Обжорный рынок связывают с тем, что там торговали горячей едой в харчевнях, с лотков и вразнос. Позднее рынок называли Сытным и Ситным (по муке, которую просеивали сквозь сита и пекли из нее ситный хлеб). О происхождении названия существует много легенд, по одной из которых первый губернатор Санкт-Петербурга Меншиков обычно угощался здесь пирожками с зайчатиной и восклицал: «Как сытно!».

Сытный рынок с момента своего возникновения служил одной из городских площадок для публичного оглашения царских указов, а в середине XVIII века— и публичных казней. Так, 17 июня 1740 года здесь были казнены обвинённые в заговоре против Анны Иоанновны вельможа Артемий Волынский и архитектор, первостроитель Петербурга, Петр Еропкин.

Петербургская сторона в конце XVIII и начале XIX века заселялась небогатыми людьми. В то время Сытный рынок, по отзывам современников, являл жалкое зрелище, напоминавшее «ветхую руину в каком-нибудь уездном городе».

Новая жизнь на Петербургской стороне и на Сытном рынке началась с открытием в 1903 году Троицкого моста. В 1906 году торговцы финансировали конкурс на строительство нового каменного корпуса, и в 1912–1913 годах по проекту М.С. Лялевича было возведено новое здание рынка, ныне включённое в список вновь выявленных памятников архитектуры.

После Октябрьской революции рынок был закрыт. Он возобновил свою работу в 1936 году.