Church

Cathedral of St. Catherine

Address

Pushkin, Sobornaya sq., 1

Category

Churches

Daily

Years of foundation

1840

Architect

K.A. Ton

Style

Pseudorussian

The construction of the main city church of Tsarskoye Selo began in 1835 under the supervision of architect Konstantin Ton. Supervised the construction work Y. V. Zakharzhevsky, General of the city. The consecration of the cathedral took place on November 24, 1840 in the presence of Emperor Nicholas I.

The Catherine’s Cathedral was conceived in the form of a Greek cross according to the type of central symmetry, the facades were facing the streets forming Cathedral Square. Towering 50 meters, the cathedral during its construction was the tallest building of Tsarskoye Selo. Catherine Cathedral could accommodate 2,000 people. The main altar of the temple with a five-tier iconostasis was elevated by five steps. Outside, the walls of the temple were plastered and whitewashed. In the upper part of the temple were bas-relief images of angels, and on the eastern side - the image of St. Catherine. Five gilded domes with crosses crowned the temple.

In 1862, the cathedral suffered from smoke and soot during a fire that destroyed the wooden Gostiny Dvor. Only the 1890s managed to restore the walls and gilding, as well as conduct internal repairs. In 1865, Y. V. Zakharzhevsky died and, as the first honorary citizen of Tsarskoye Selo, was buried in the cathedral. A plate with a commemorative inscription “from citizens” was on the western wall. Also in 1917, the priest John Kochurov, who was shot by the Red Army and was reckoned in 1992 with the host of holy martyrs and confessors of the 20th century, was buried in the cathedral.

In the 1930s, the cathedral was supposed to be closed, and its premises used for other purposes. However, later the presidium of the district council decided to demolish the temple because of the supposedly "bulky building" that overwhelmed the surrounding buildings. On the night of June 5, 1939 the cathedral was blown up.

In the postwar years, the former Cathedral Square is gradually cleared, and a square is formed on the site of the blown up church. April 22, 1960, on the 90th anniversary of the birth of V.I. Lenin, a monument was erected to the leader in the center of the square, actually on the foundation of the temple.

In 2006, the question of rebuilding the temple was raised, large-scale excavations began to study its foundation. In February 2007, an order to recreate the cathedral was signed by the Government of St. Petersburg. The funds allocated by the government were not enough, and many enterprises of the city, as well as private individuals, contributed to the reconstruction of the temple. In addition, more than 27 thousand Petersburgers contributed to the acquisition of the so-called registered brick.

On June 27, 2010, as part of the festivities dedicated to the 300th anniversary of Tsarskoye Selo, the consecration of the temple by Patriarch Kirill took place. Currently, Catherine’s Cathedral is an active Orthodox church.

Since 2014, a unique museum has been operating in the basement halls of the cathedral, which presents models of temples of the Tsarskoye Selo deanery, interesting artifacts found during excavations of the Catherine Cathedral, elements of its utensils. One of the main relics of the museum is the miraculously preserved cross, which was in the cathedral until its destruction. Entrance to the museum is free, but a donation to the temple is welcome.

Храм

Собор святой великомученицы Екатерины

Адрес

г. Пушкин, Соборная площадь, 1

Категория

Храмы

Ежедневно

Год постройки

1840

Архитектор

К. А. Тон

Стиль

Псевдорусский

Строительство главного городского храма Царского Села началось в 1835 году под руководством архитектора Константина Тона. Руководил строительными работами Я. В. Захаржевский, Главноуправляющий городом. Освящение собора состоялось 24 ноября 1840 года в присутствии императора Николая I.

Екатерининский собор задумывался в форме греческого креста по типу центральной симметрии, фасады были обращены к улицам, образующим Соборную площадь. Возвышаясь на 50 метров, собор в годы своей постройки являлся самым высоким зданием Царского Села. Екатерининский собор мог вместить в себя 2000 человек. Главный алтарь храма с пятиярусным иконостасом был возвышен на пять ступеней. Снаружи стены храма были оштукатурены и побелены. В верхней части храма находились барельефные изображения ангелов, а на восточной стороне — изображение Святой Екатерины. Венчали храм пять золоченых куполов с крестами.

В 1862 году собор пострадал от дыма и копоти во время пожара, уничтожившего деревянный Гостиный Двор. Восстановить стены и позолоту, а также провести внутренние ремонтные работы удалось только 1890-е годы. В 1865 году скончался Я. В. Захаржевский и, как первый почетный гражданин Царского Села, был похоронен в соборе. Плита с памятной надписью «от граждан» находилась на западной стене. Также в 1917 году в соборе был похоронен священник Иоанн Кочуров, расстрелянный красноармейцами и причисленный в 1992 году к сонму святых мучеников и исповедников Российских XX века.

В 1930-е годы собор предполагалось закрыть, а его помещения использовать для других целей. Однако позднее президиумом райсовета было принято решение о сносе храма из-за якобы «громоздкости здания», подавляющего окружающие строения. В ночь на 5 июня 1939 года собор был взорван.

В послевоенные годы бывшую Соборную площадь постепенно расчищают, и на месте взорванного храма образуется сквер. 22 апреля 1960 года, в 90-ю годовщину со дня рождения В. И. Ленина, вождю был установлен памятник в центре сквера, фактически на фундаменте храма.

В 2006 году был поднят вопрос о воссоздании храма, начались масштабные раскопки для исследования его фундамента. В феврале 2007 года распоряжение о воссоздании собора было подписано Правительством Санкт-Петербурга. Выделенных правительством средств не хватало, и в воссоздание храма внесли свой вклад многие предприятия города, а также частные лица. Кроме того, более 27 тысяч петербуржцев внесли средства на приобретение так называемого именного кирпича.

27 июня 2010 года, в рамках праздничных торжеств, посвященных 300-летию Царского Села, состоялось освящение храма Патриархом Кириллом. В настоящее время Екатерининский собор является действующим православным храмом.

С 2014 года в цокольных залах собора работает уникальный музей, где представлены макеты храмов Царскосельского благочиния, интересные артефакты, найденные при раскопках Екатерининского собора, элементы его утвари. Одна из главных реликвий музея — чудом сохранившийся крест, который находился в соборе до момента его разрушения. Вход в музей бесплатный, однако пожертвование храму приветствуется.