Church

Smolensky Cemetery

Address

Kamskaya Street, 24

Category

Churches

Daily

09:00 – 17:00

Years of foundation

1738

Smolensky cemetery is the oldest of the existing cemeteries of St. Petersburg. Since 1710 dead prisoners were buried not far from the prison of the military office of St. Petersburg. Only in 1738 these graves officially received the status of a cemetery.

The Smolensky orthodox cemetery is named after the wooden church of the Smolensk Icon of the Mother of God built in 1760. Significant damage to it was caused by a flood in 1824. For many years the cemetery was a kind of spiritual center of St. Petersburg. Here Xenia of Petersburg is buried - a chapel is built on her grave. Also, the cemetery was a traditional burial place for academics, university professors, teachers of the Mining Institute, students of military schools, actors, writers and artists.

In 1828 the nanny of Alexander Pushkin - Arina Rodionovna was buried here, Taras Shevchenko in 1861, whose ashes were transported to Ukraine in the same year. In the 1930s-1950s a number of burial places of outstanding cultural figures were carried out in the museum-necropolis of the City sculpture of the museum (V. A. Karatygin, A. E. Martynov, I. I. Kramskoy, I. I. Shishkin, A. I. Kuindzhi etc.).

From 1938 to the early 1980s the cemetery was closed for burial. Now it has the status of semi-closed: new graves appear in free places where old graves have not been preserved.

Храм

Смоленское православное кладбище

Адрес

Камская ул., 24

Категория

Храмы

Ежедневно

09:00 – 17:00

Год постройки

1738

Храмы /

Смоленское православное кладбище — старейшее из действующих кладбищ Санкт-Петербурга. С 1710 года недалеко от острога военной канцелярии Петербурга хоронили умерших узников. Только в 1738 году эти захоронения официально получили статус кладбища.

Кладбище названо по деревянному храму Смоленской иконы Божией Матери, построенному в 1760 году. Значительный ущерб ему нанесло наводнение 1824 года. Долгие годы кладбище являлось своеобразным духовным центром Санкт-Петербурга. Здесь похоронена Ксения Петербургская — на ее могиле построена часовня. Также кладбище было традиционным местом погребения академиков, университетских профессоров, преподавателей Горного института, воспитанников военно-учебных заведений, актёров, писателей и художников.

В 1828 году здесь похоронена няня А. С. Пушкина — Арина Родионовна, в 1861 — Тарас Шевченко, прах которого в том же году перевезен на Украину. В 1930-1950-х годах осуществлен ряд перезахоронений выдающихся деятелей культуры в музеи-некрополи Городской скульптуры музея (В. А. Каратыгин, А. Е. Мартынов, И. И. Крамской, И. И. Шишкин, А. И. Куинджи и др.).

С 1938 до начала 1980-х гг. кладбище было закрыто для погребений. Сейчас оно имеет статус полузакрытого: новые захоронения появляются на свободных местах, где не сохранились старые могилы.