Church

Evangelical Lutheran Church of Saint Katarina

Address

Malaya Konushennaya Str., 1

Category

Churches

Daily

Years of foundation

1863-1865

Architect

Karl Andersson

Style

pseudo-Roman

The functioning Evangelical-Lutheran church

The parish of the Lutheran Swedish Church in St. Petersburg was founded in 1703. At that time it was the first and the only non-Orthodox parish in the new capital. In the XIX century the number of parishioners amounted to 7000 people.

The modern stone building of the church, located next to the Consulate General of Sweden, was built in 1865 by architect Carl Andersson.

The church for 1200 seats was built in pseudo-Romanesque style with a rose window. The cost of construction amounted to 100 thousand rubles, 5 thousand of which was donated by Emperor Alexander II. Religious paintings were made by Professor N. Tirsch from Munich. Also an organ was installed in the church. In the Soviet era the parish ceased to exist, the temple building was nationalized and converted into a sports hall.

The parish restored its activities in historical places in the early 1990s, and at the end of 2005 the church building was completely transferred to the disposal of the parish. Divine services of the week: twice a month in Swedish, the rest of Sundays - in Russian. The parish also organizes various cultural events.

Храм

Шведская церковь Святой Екатерины

Адрес

Малая Конюшенная ул., 1

Категория

Храмы

Ежедневно

Год постройки

1863-1865

Архитектор

Карл Андерссон

Стиль

псевдороманский

Храмы /

Приход лютеранской шведской церкви в Петербурге был основан в 1703 году. В то время это был первый и единственный не православный приход в новой столице. В XIX веке число прихожан составляло 7000 человек.

Современное каменное здание церкви, находящееся рядом с Генеральным консульством Швеции, было построено в 1865 году по проекту архитектора Карла Андерссона.

Церковь на 1200 мест построена в псевдороманском стиле с окном-розой. Затраты на строительство составили 100 тысяч рублей, из них  5 тысяч пожертвовал император Александр II. Религиозные картины были написаны профессором Н. Тиршем из Мюнхена. Также в церкви был установлен орган. В советское время приход прекратил своё существование, здание храма было национализировано и переоборудовано в спортивный зал.

Приход восстановил свою деятельность в исторических помещениях в начале 1990-х годов, а в конце 2005 года здание церкви было полностью передано в распоряжение прихода. Богослужения проводятся каждое воскресенье: два раза в месяц на шведском, в остальные воскресенья – на русском языке. Также приход проводит различные культурные мероприятия.