Famous building

Headquarters of the Russian Geographical Society

Address

Grivtsova per., 10

Category

Famous buildings

Weekdays

10:00 – 19:00

Weekend

Day off

Years of foundation

1907–1909

Architects

G.V. Baranovsky

Style

Neoclassicism

The Imperial Russian Geographical Society was founded in August 1845. From 1846 to 1862 it was located on Moika Embankment, 14, in the house of Pushchin. Then, the High Command ordered the apartment in the building of the 6th Gymnasium on Chernysheva Square (now Lomonosov Square) to be used free of charge. This was the heyday of geography, the Society was actively developing, the funds of its library and archive expanded.

In 1907, construction began on the building specifically for the Russian Geographical Society. The project was made by architect Gabriel Baranovsky, known as the chief architect of all buildings for the Eliseev brothers. His most famous buildings are the Brothers Eliseev House of Trade Partnership on Nevsky Prospekt and the Moscow Eliseevsky Shop on Tverskaya Street.

In 1909, the building of the Society was opened. It met the highest standards of its time. It housed: a large hall for ceremonial meetings, a library, a book warehouse, two small halls for ordinary meetings of departments and commissions, the Council room, the secretary’s office and the office, several small rooms and a guardhouse.

At present, the best specialized geography library in Europe, as well as a scientific archive that stores expedition materials, memoirs and personal items of prominent Russian travelers, operate at the Headquarters of the Russian Geographical Society.

In the Great Hall is the Central Lecture Hall named after Yu.M. Shokalsky is one of the oldest in the city. Over the years, such outstanding scientists and travelers as Nikolai Vavilov, Lev Gumilyov, Tur Heyerdahl, Yuri Senkevich and many others spoke from the rostrum of the lecture hall. Lectures, film screenings are held here. Admission to events is free.

Достопримечательность

Штаб-квартира Русского географического общества

Адрес

пер. Гривцова, 10

Будние дни

10:00 – 19:00

Выходные дни

Выходной

Год постройки

1907–1909

Архитектор

Г.В. Барановский

Стиль

Неоклассицизм

Императорское Русское географическое общество было основано в августе 1845 года. С 1846 по 1862 год оно располагалось на набережной Мойки, 14, в доме Пущина. Затем обществу Высочайшим повелением была отведена в безвозмездное пользование квартира в доме 6-й гимназии на Чернышевой площади (ныне площадь Ломоносова).

Это был период расцвета географии,  Общество активно развивалось, ширились фонды его библиотеки и архива. И в 1907 году началось строительство здания специально для РГО. Проект составил архитектор Гавриил Барановский, известный как главный архитектор всех построек для братьев Елисеевых. Самые знаменитые его здания — Дом торгового товарищества «Братья Елисеевы» на Невском проспекте и московский Елисеевский магазин на Тверской ул.

В 1909 году здание Общества было открыто. Оно соответствовало самым высоким стандартам своего времени. Там разместились: большой зал для торжественных заседаний, библиотека, книжный склад, два малых зала для обычных заседаний отделений и комиссий, зал Совета, кабинет секретаря и канцелярия, несколько небольших комнат и помещение для сторожа.

В настоящее время в Штаб-квартире РГО работают лучшая в Европе специализированная библиотека по географии, а также научный архив, хранящий материалы экспедиций, воспоминания и личные предметы выдающихся русских путешественников.

В Большом зале расположен Центральный лекторий имени Ю.М. Шокальского – один из старейших в городе. С трибуны лектория в разные годы выступали такие выдающиеся учёные и путешественники, как Николай Вавилов, Лев Гумилёв, Тур Хейердал, Юрий Сенкевич и многие другие. Здесь проходят лекции, выставки кинопоказы. Вход на мероприятия – свободный.