Church

Datsan Gunzechoinei in Saint Petersburg

Address

Primorsky prospect, 91

Category

Churches

Daily

Years of foundation

1909

Architect

G.V. Baranovsky, N.M. Berezovsky

Style

modern

The current Buddhist temple

Datsan Gunzehoyney was until recently the most northern Buddhist temple in the world. In addition, it is the first Buddhist temple in Europe.

In 1908, the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Russia received a petition from the Tibetan Dalai Lama for the construction of a Datsan in St. Petersburg. Scientists-orientalists supported the idea. In 1909 on the site acquired by the Buryat lama Aghvan Dorzhiev construction began. The funds were donated by Dorzhiev and XIII Dalai Lama and were gathered among the believers of the Republics of Buryatia and Kalmykia.

Datsan was built in accordance with the canons of Tibetan architecture. For the scientific management of the construction a committee of oriental scientists was established and for the decoration of the inner church Buddhist monk O. B. Budayev was invited to St. Petersburg. He took part in the painting of the central church according to the sketches of N. K.  Roerich.

The walls of the temple are faced with red and purple granite. The entablature made of red brick is trimmed with blue belts with white circles. Three-story building of the temple connects with a four-story tower from the north side. The tower is crowned with a complex copper gilded top called "ganchir". The temple also adorns the eight-degree circle  "harde" (a symbol of Buddhism) with copper figures of gazelles on the sides. In the corners of the main facade there are gilded cones – "chzhaltsans", which housed printed prayer texts. Inside the temple there are colored stained-glass windows, Buddhist symbols, multicolored floor tiles etc.

In 1968 the building was declared a monument of local architecture. In 1990 Datsan was handed over to Buddhists.

Храм

Санкт-Петербургский буддийский храм «Дацан Гунзэчойнэй»

Адрес

Приморский проспект, 91

Категория

Храмы

Ежедневно

Год постройки

1909

Архитектор

Г. В. Барановский, Н. М. Березовский

Стиль

модерн

Храмы /

Дацан Гунзэчойнэй до недавнего времени являлся самым северным буддийским храмом в мире. Кроме того, это первый в Европе буддийский храм.

В 1908 году в Министерство иностранных дел России поступило ходатайство тибетского далай-ламы о строительстве храма в Петербурге. Идею поддержали ученые-востоковеды. В 1909 году на участке, приобретенном бурятским ламой Агваном Доржиевым, началось строительство. Средства были пожертвованы Доржиевым и XIII далай-ламой, а также собирались среди верующих Бурятии и Калмыкии.

Дацан построен в соответствии с канонами тибетской архитектуры. Для научного руководства строительством был создан комитет ученых-востоковедов, а для оформления внутреннего храма в Петербург пригласили буддийского монаха О. Б. Будаева — он принимал участие в росписи центрального храма по эскизам Н. К. Рериха.

Стены храма облицованы красно-фиолетовым гранитом. Антаблемент, выполненный из красного кирпича, отделан синими поясами с белыми кругами. Трехэтажное здание храма с севера соединяется с четырехэтажной башней. Башня увенчана сложным медным позолоченным завершением, которое называется «ганчжир». Храм также украшает восьмиградусный круг хардэ (символ буддизма) с медными фигурами газелей по сторонам. По углам главного фасада расположены позолоченные конусы, чжалцаны, в которых размещались печатные молитвенные тексты. Внутри храма — цветные витражи плафона и ограждения светового проема с буддийскими символами, выложенный многоцветными плитками пол и др.

В 1968 году здание было объявлено памятником архитектуры местного значения. В 1990 году храм передан буддистам.