Church

Sampsonievsky Cathedral

Address

Bolshoi Sampsonievsky ave., 41

Category

Churches

Daily

Years of foundation

1728-1740

Architect

PA Trezzini

Style

baroque

Active Orthodox church

The Sampsonievsky cathedral in St. Petersburg is one of the few preserved to this day architectural monuments of the first half of the XVIII century.

On June 27, 1709, on the day of the commemoration of the memory of St. Sampson the Hospitable, a significant military victory took place that was decisive in the end of the Northern War. Russian troops defeated the Swedish army in the Battle of Poltava. To mark this event, Peter I ordered to build a wooden church near the Vyborg road leading to the Swedish king's possessions. The church was rebuilt into the cathedral in 1728-1740. The bell tower was constructed in 1740.

The architect of the cathedral is P.A. Trezzini. The name of the architect of the bell tower is unknown. The chapel was built in 1909 in the style of the Elizabethan baroque and modeled after F.B. Rastrelli. It differs markedly from the cathedral and the bell tower. Its architect was A.P. Aplaxin.

In 1711, a cemetery was built near the Sampsonievsky church. People of art were buried here. Among them are architects D. Trezzini, A. Schluter, J.B. Leblon, G. Mattarnovi, sculptor K.B. Rastrelli, painters L. Caravac and S. Torelli. Nowadays only a mass grave of A. Volynsky, A. Khrushchov and I. Eropkin, who were executed in 1740 on charges of conspiring against Biron, remained. In 1885, a monument was erected on the site of this burial by decree of Catherine II.

In 1938, the cathedral was closed.  After the war it was transferred with all its property to the Library of the Academy of Sciences. The building was used for storage of books and stationery. The roof of the cathedral destroyed during the war was restored in 1957. In 2000, the cathedral was opened as a museum-monument. Church services were held there only on weekends and holidays. In 2017, the cathedral was transferred to the administration of the Russian Orthodox Church.

Храм

Сампсониевский собор

Адрес

Большой Сампсониевский проспект, 41

Категория

Храмы

Ежедневно

Год постройки

1728-1740

Архитектор

П. А. Трезини

Стиль

петровское барокко

Сампсониевский собор в Петербурге — один из немногих памятников архитектуры первой половины XVIII века, сохранившийся до наших дней.

27 июня 1709 года, в день празднования памяти святого Сампсония Странноприимца, произошла значительная военная победа, решившая исход Северной войны — русские войска нанесли сокрушительное поражение шведской армии в битве под Полтавой. В ознаменование этого Петр I распорядился построить деревянную церковь возле Выборгской дороги, ведущей в сторону владений шведского короля.  Перестройка церкви в собор велась в 1728-1740 годы, колокольня возведена в 1740 году.

Архитектор собора — П. А. Трезини, архитектор колокольни неизвестен. Часовня построена в 1909 году в стиле елизаветинского барокко по образцу Ф. Б. Растрелли, который заметно отличается от собора и колокольни, архитектор — А. П. Аплаксин.

В 1711 году возле Сампсониевского храма устроили кладбище, где были похоронены люди искусства. Среди них — зодчие Д. Трезини, А. Шлютер, Ж.-Б. Леблон, Г. Маттарнови, скульптор К. Б. Растрелли, живописцы Л. Каравак и С. Торелли. Ныне кладбище, из захоронений осталась лишь братская могила А. Волынского, А. Хрущова и И. Еропкина, казненных в 1740 году по обвинению в заговоре против Бирона. В 1885 году по указу Екатерины II на месте этого захоронения был поставлен памятник.

В 1938 году собор был закрыт, а после войны со всем имуществом передан Библиотеке Академии наук. Здание использовалось для хранения книг и канцелярских товаров. Разрушенная в годы войны крыша собора была восстановлена в 1957 году.  В 2000 году собор открыли как музей-памятник, богослужения в нем проводились только по выходным и праздникам. В 2017 году собор передан в управление РПЦ.