Музей

Piskarevskoe memorial cemetery

Address

Nepokorennykh pr., 72

Daily

09:00 – 21:00

The Piskarevskoye Memorial Cemetery is one of the symbols of St. Petersburg, a memory of the feat of Leningraders who withstood the terrible blockade during the Great Patriotic War. The memorial was inaugurated on May 9, 1960, on the fifteenth anniversary of the Victory. On this day, from a torch delivered from the Field of Mars, the Eternal Flame was lit here.

The Piskarevskoye cemetery was founded in 1939 on the northeastern outskirts of Leningrad and was named after the nearby village of Piskarevka. During the war and the blockade of Leningrad, it became the main burial place for the dead residents and defenders of the city. More than 470 thousand Leningraders and 50 thousand soldiers of the Leningrad Front and sailors of the Baltic Fleet were buried in mass graves during the war years. There are 186 mass graves at the Piskarevskoye cemetery, most of which are unnamed.

After the end of the war, it was decided to perpetuate the memory of the victims of the blockade and the defenders of Leningrad by creating a memorial complex at the cemetery. The competition for the designs of the memorial took place in 1945. As a result, the project of architects A. Vasiliev and E. Levinson was approved, and in 1956 construction began. On the territory of 26 hectares, 186 earthen mounds of mass graves were formed, thousands of trees, shrubs and red roses were planted. More than 800 cars of granite were brought for the architectural part of the memorial.

The memorial is a complex architectural and sculptural ensemble. The central place is occupied by a majestic monument - a granite stele with high reliefs, over which a six-meter bronze sculpture "Motherland-Mother" rises.

A creative team of architects and sculptors worked on the creation of the memorial. The central figure and relief images on the stele - human figures bent over mourning wreaths and banners lowered down - were created by sculptors V. Isaeva and R. Taurit, a team of sculptors worked on six high reliefs depicting Leningraders-blockades. An important semantic role is played by memorable texts specially created for the memorial by the poetess Olga Berggolts, who lived in Leningrad during the entire blockade, and by the front-line poet Mikhail Dudin.

In front of the entrance to the cemetery, there is a memorial marble plaque with the inscription: "From September 4, 1941 to January 22, 1944, 107,158 bombs were dropped on the city, 148,478 shells were fired, 16,744 people were killed, 33,782 were wounded, 641,803 died of starvation."

There is a museum in two pavilions at the main entrance to the cemetery. There is an exhibition of photographs taken during the blockade, and the diary of Tanya Savicheva, a Leningrad schoolgirl who survived the horrors of the blockade winter, is on display. The Eternal Flame burns in the center of the granite slabs, and the main alley, 480 meters long, connects it with the Motherland Monument.

In the new century, a new memorial plaque "Blockade Desk" appeared in the memorial complex, created in memory of school teachers who worked in besieged Leningrad and children who continued to go to lessons despite hunger and hardship.

The Piskarevskoye Memorial Cemetery is a world famous, nationwide monument to the history of the Great Patriotic War, a museum of the feat of Leningrad. Its archives contain many valuable historical documents that preserve the memory of the years of the blockade and the heroism of the Soviet people. This is a traditional venue for ceremonies dedicated to Victory Day and the Day of lifting the blockade of Leningrad.

Музей

Пискаревское мемориальное кладбище

Адрес

пр. Непокоренных, 72

Ежедневно

09:00 – 21:00

Пискаревское мемориальное кладбище – один из символов Санкт-Петербурга, память о подвиге ленинградцев, выдержавших страшную блокаду в годы Великой Отечественной войны. Мемориал был торжественно открыт 9 мая 1960 года, в пятнадцатую годовщину Победы. В этот день от факела, доставленного с Марсова поля, здесь был зажжен Вечный огонь.

Пискаревское кладбище было основано в 1939 году на северо-восточной окраине Ленинграда и было названо по располагавшейся неподалеку деревни Пискаревка. В годы войны и блокады Ленинграда оно стало основным местом захоронения погибших жителей и защитников города. В братских могилах за годы войны было похоронено более 470 тысяч ленинградцев и 50 тысяч воинов Ленинградского фронта и моряков Балтийского флота. На Пискаревском кладбище 186 братских могил, большинство из которых безымянные.

После окончания войны было решено увековечить память о жертвах блокады и защитниках Ленинграда, создав на кладбище мемориальный комплекс. Конкурс проектов мемориала состоялся в 1945 году. В результате был одобрен проект архитекторов А.Васильева и Е.Левинсона, и в 1956 году началось строительство. На территории 26 гектаров было сформировано 186 земляных холмов братских могил, высажены тысячи деревьев, кустарников и красных роз. Для архитектурной части мемориала привезено более 800 вагонов гранита.

Мемориал представляет собой сложный архитектурно-скульптурный ансамбль. Центральное место занимает величественный монумент – гранитная стела с горельефами, над которой возвышается шестиметровая бронзовая скульптура «Родина-Мать».

Над созданием мемориала работал творческий коллектив архитекторов и скульпторов. Центральную фигуру и рельефные изображения на стеле – человеческие фигуры, склонившиеся над траурными венками и опущенными вниз знаменами, создали скульпторы В.Исаева и Р.Таурит, бригада скульпторов работала над шестью горельефами, изображающими ленинградцев-блокадников. Важную смысловую роль играют памятные тексты, специально созданные для мемориала поэтессой Ольгой Берггольц, прожившей в Ленинграде всю блокаду, и поэтом-фронтовиком Михаилом Дудиным.

Перед входом на кладбище установлена памятная мраморная доска с надписью: «С 4 сентября 1941 года по 22 января 1944 года на город было сброшено 107158 авиабомб, выпущено 148478 снарядов, убито 16744 человек, ранено 33782, умерло от голода 641803».

В двух павильонах у главного входа на кладбище располагается музей. Там находится выставка фотографий, сделанных во время блокады, и экспонируется дневник Тани Савичевой – ленинградской школьницы, пережившей ужасы блокадной зимы. В центре гранитных плит горит Вечный огонь, а главная аллея протяженностью 480 метров соединяет его с монументом «Родина-Мать».

В новом столетии в мемориальном комплексе появилась новая памятная плита «Блокадная парта», созданная в память о школьных учителях, работавших в блокадном Ленинграде, и детях, которые продолжали ходить на уроки, несмотря на голод и лишения.

Пискаревское мемориальное кладбище — всемирно известный, общенациональный памятник истории Великой Отечественной войны, музей подвига Ленинграда. В его архивах содержится множество ценных исторических документов, хранящих память о годах блокады и героизме советских людей. Это традиционное место проведения церемоний, посвященных Дню Победы и Дню снятия блокады Ленинграда.