Музей

Peter and Paul Fortress

Address

Zaychy Island

Monday, Tuesday, Thursday, Friday, Weekend

10:00 – 20:00

Wednesday

Closed

Entrance fee

adults - from 100 rubles. up to 450 rubles. (visiting the Peter and Paul Cathedral), students - from 100 rubles. up to 250 rubles., Pensioners - from 40 rubles. up to 200 rubles.

Upcoming events

Exhibition

11 / 11 / 2021 — 30 / 05 / 2022

Exhibition "Russian avant-garde: mechanics, construction, everyday life"

Exhibition

15 / 04 / 2022 — 14 / 06 / 2022

Peter the Great’s Zertsalo

Festival

27 / 05 / 2022 — 12 / 09 / 2022

Sand Sculpture Festival "A world without borders"

Festival

28 / 05 / 2022 — 29 / 05 / 2022

Exhibition project "Silver Necklace of Russia"

The Peter and Paul Fortress was put on May 27, 1703. According to the legend, Peter I himself chose a place for new fortress – the small Hare island (in Finnish – Janisaari), located in the Neva River estuary. The citadel in the form of a six-pointed star was constructed according to the project made by the French engineer Zh.G. Lamber with the participation of the tsar.

Six curtains connect six powerful bastions, called after the associates of Peter I. The defense system from the West and the East is closed by Ioannovsky and Alekseevsky ravelins. Two bridges — Ioannovsky and Kronverksky - connect the Hare Island with Petrogradsky. On October 1, 1703 fortress was consecrated. On the Monarchic bastion the Andreevsky colors were hoisted, on ramparts three hundred tools were installed.

On June 29, 1703 in the center of the Peter and Paul Fortress small wooden church for the sake of apostles Pyotr and Pavel, on which place in 1712-1732 built a stone cathedral, was laid. Its height is 122.5 meters, the forty-meter spire is crowned with the figure of a flying angel. More than 8 kilograms of red gold was spent on the spire.

From 1731 to 1858 Peter and Paul Cathedral had the status of the cathedral temple of the capital, then was ranked as court department. The cathedral served as a tomb of reigning House of Romanovs. Here the Russian emperors and empresses from Peter I to Nikolay II, except for Peter II and Ioann of VI, are buried.

Within the XVIII-XIX centuries in the territory of fortress buildings and constructions of different function were built: Botny house, Artillery, Mint, Commandant's and Engineering house, and also guardroom and others.

In the XVIII century fortress became a jail of the state criminals, in XIX — the main political prison of Russia.

At the times of emperor Alexander I at the beginning of the XIX century fortress was for the first time open for visitors. In 1924 Trubetskoy's prison of a bastion turned into the museum. In 1954 the complex of buildings of the Peter and Paul Fortress was passed to the State museum of history of Leningrad (St. Petersburg).

Nowadays on the territory of Peter and Paul Fortress the main exhibition complex of the State Museum of the History of St. Petersburg is located. It includes the Peter and Paul Cathedral, the Grand Ducal Tomb, the Church House, the Botny House, the Commandant's House, the Engineering House, the buildings of the Trubetskoi Bastion Prisons, bastions, curtains, ravelins and other buildings and structures. Visitors will also be attracted by the bronze sculpture of Peter I by Mikhail Shemyakin.

There are various excursions around the fortress, including: sightseeing tour; the history of Petersburg-Petrograd in 1703-1918; tour of the exposition of the Commandant's House; excursion to the Belltower of the Peter and Paul Cathedral "Three centuries above the city"; "The street of time" in the Engineering House; a sightseeing tour of the Museum of Astronautics and Missile Technology.

Музей

Петропавловская крепость

Адрес

Заячий остров

Категория

Музеи

Понедельник, Вторник, Четверг, Пятница, Выходные дни

09:30 – 20:00

Среда

Выходной

Стоимость билетов

взрослые — от 100 руб. до 450 руб. (посещение Петропавловского собора), учащиеся — от 100 руб. до 250 руб., пенсионеры — от 40 руб. до 200 руб.

Музеи /

Ближайшие события

Выставка

25 / 10 / 2018 — 01 / 07 / 2019

Выставка «Комсомол ответил есть». К 100-летию ВЛКСМ

Выставка

15 / 11 / 2018 — 15 / 09 / 2019

Избранное. Коллекция Государственного музея истории Санкт-Петербурга

Выставка

14 / 12 / 2018 — 03 / 02 / 2019

Рождественские и новогодние подарки

Фестиваль

21 / 12 / 2018 — 03 / 02 / 2019

Фестиваль ледовых скульптур ICE FANTASY

Петропавловская крепость заложена 27 мая 1703 года. По преданию, Петр I сам выбрал место для новой крепости – небольшой Заячий остров (по-фински – Енисаари), расположенный в устье реки Невы. Цитадель в форме шестиконечной звезды сооружалась по проекту, составленному французским инженером Ж.Г. Ламбером при участии царя.

Шесть куртин соединяют шесть мощных бастионов, названных именами сподвижников Петра I. Оборонительную систему с запада и востока замыкают Иоанновский и Алексеевский равелины. Два моста — Иоанновский и Кронверкский - соединяют Заячий остров с Петроградским. 1 октября 1703 года крепость освятили. На Государевом бастионе был поднят Андреевский флаг, на крепостных валах установлены триста орудий.

29 июня 1703 года в центре Петропавловской крепости заложили небольшую деревянную церковь во имя апостолов Петра и Павла, на месте которой в 1712–1732 годах возвели каменный собор. Это самое красивое здание Петропавловской крепости. Его высота — 122,5 метров, сорокаметровый шпиль увенчан фигурой летящего ангела. На позолоту шпиля потрачено более 8 килограмм червонного золота.

С 1731 по 1858 год Петропавловский собор имел статус кафедрального храма столицы, затем был причислен к придворному ведомству. Собор служил усыпальницей царствующего Дома Романовых. Здесь похоронены русские императоры и императрицы от Петра I до Николая II, за исключением Петра II и Иоанна VI.

В течение XVIII–XIX веков на территории крепости были построены здания и сооружения разного назначения: Ботный дом, Артиллерийский цейхгауз, Монетный двор, Комендантский и Инженерный дом, a также гауптвахта и другие.

Уже в XVIII веке крепость стала местом заключения государственных преступников, в XIX — главной политической тюрьмой России.

При императоре Александре I в начале XIX века крепость впервые была открыта для посетителей. В 1924 году тюрьма Трубецкого бастиона превратилась в музей. В 1954 году комплекс зданий Петропавловской крепости был передан Государственному музею истории Ленинграда (Санкт-Петербурга).

Сегодня на территории Петропавловской крепости находится основной выставочный комплекс Государственного музея истории Санкт-Петербурга. В его состав входят Петропавловский собор, Великокняжеская усыпальница, Церковный дом, Ботный дом, Комендантский дом, Инженерный дом, здания Тюрьмы Трубецкого бастиона, бастионы, куртины, равелины и другие здания и сооружения. Посетителей также привлечет бронзовая скульптура Петра I работы Михаила Шемякина.

По крепости проводятся различные экскурсии, в том числе: обзорная экскурсия; история Петербурга–Петрограда 1703-1918 годов; экскурсия по экспозиции Комендантского дома; экскурсия на Колокольню Петропавловского собора «Три века над городом»; «Улица времени» в Инженерном доме; обзорная экскурсия по Музею космонавтики и ракетной техники.