Famous building

The first residential building of the Leningrad City Council

Address

Karpovka emb, 13

Category

Famous buildings

Daily

Years of foundation

1931–1934

Architects

E.A. Levinson and II. Fomin

Style

constructivism

The first residential building of the Leningrad City Council of People's Deputies was created for the party, bureaucratic and creative elite of Leningrad.

The house is unusual for its concave facade, the solution to the shapes of windows and balconies. Atypical for the building of the northern city is the design of the patio and the surrounding areas. The courtyard is fenced off from the street by a stone net, which resembles a garden partition. There is a gazebo with stone benches, a place for the flowerbeds and two external staircases leading to the open gallery of the second floor.

The building is carefully thought out inside too. It was an elite house for 76 apartments of different sizes, with a number of rooms from two to six, with bathrooms and built-in furniture. Some apartments were two-story, stairs to the second floor of the apartment were made out oak. The project provided for mechanical laundry, hairdresser, shop, solarium, rooms for staff.

The house is connected with a gloomy legend: it says that suicides were often committed here. And in 2006, during the renovation of the building, a shocking discovery was made. The builders changed the rickety granite slabs on the facade and parapet and, taking off the first blocks, saw gravestones on the plates. One can read: "Maxim Uvarov, year of birth 1777". Restorers explained that in the 1930s, slabs from the ancient cemeteries of St. Petersburg were often used for construction.

The residential building of the Leningrad City Council is a single architectural ensemble with the building of the Lensoviet Palace on Kamennoostrovsky Avenue, 42.

Достопримечательность

Первый жилой дом Ленсовета

Адрес

Наб. р. Карповки, 13 / ул. Литераторов, 10

Ежедневно

Год постройки

1931–1934 годы

Архитектор

Е.А. Левинсон и И.И. Фомин

Стиль

конструктивизм

Первый жилой дом Ленинградского городского Совета народных депутатов  был создан для партийной, чиновничьей и творческой элиты Ленинграда.

Дом необычен своим вогнутым фасадом, решением форм окон и балконов. Нетипична для здания северного города конструкция внутреннего дворика и прилегающих территорий. Дворик отгорожен от улицы каменной сеткой, которая напоминает садовую перегородку. Здесь есть беседка с каменными лавками, место под клумбы и две внешние лестницы, ведущие на открытую галерею второго этажа.

Здание тщательно продумано и внутри. Это был элитный дом на 76 квартир разной площади, с числом комнат от двух до шести, с  ванными комнатами и  встроенной мебелью. Некоторые квартиры  были двухэтажными, лестницы на второй этаж квартиры – дубовыми. В проекте были предусмотрены механическая прачечная, парикмахерская, магазин, солярий, комнаты для обслуживающего персонала.

С домом связана мрачная  легенда: говорилит, что в нем часто совершались самоубийства. А в 2006 году во время ремонта здания была сделана шокирующая находка.  Строители меняли покосившиеся гранитные плиты на фасаде и парапете и, сняв первые блоки, увидели на плитах надгробные надписи. На одной можно прочесть: «Максим Уваров, год рождения 1777».  Реставраторы пояснили, что в 1930-х годах при строительстве часто использовались плиты со старинных кладбищ Петербурга.

Жилой дом Ленсовета составляет единый архитектурный ансамбль со зданием ДК Ленсовета на Каменноостровском проспекте, 42.