Monument

Monument to M.I. Glinka

Address

Glinka st., 9

Category

Monuments

Daily

Opened in

3rd february 1906

Sculptor

R.R. Bach, A.R. Bach

The height of the monument

7,5m

Height

3,5m

It was decided to erect a monument to the Russian composer Mikhail Ivanovich Glinka by his centenary, which was celebrated in 1904. This initiative was launched in 1901 by the Imperial Russian Musical Society. It announced a competition for the creation of the monument and the all-Russian collection of donations. For a short period of time, we managed to raise about 107 thousand rubles, including through charity performances and concerts.

The design of the monument was developed by two brothers - sculptor Robert Bach and architect Alexander Bach. A bronze statue 3.5 meters high is placed on a red granite pedestal, the total height of the monument is 7.5 meters.

The monument was inaugurated on February 3, 1906. The composer is depicted in full length: a light coat flutters, one hand is in his trouser pocket, his face is pensive, his eyes are focused. He is clearly attentively listening to a new musical piece. On the polished faces of the pedestal are inscriptions made in gilded letters: the dates of the life and death of the composer, the names of his most famous musical works. The sculpture is surrounded by a small platform of the same red polished granite. Until 1926, it was decorated with two bronze candelabra.

Initially, the monument stood at the intersection of Theater Square and Glinka Street. However, it soon became clear that the place was chosen poorly: the monument interfered with street traffic. In 1926, during the reconstruction of the square, the monument was dismantled, and then moved to a new place, south of the building of the Conservatory, where it is located to this day. Candelabra were recognized as superfluous - they did not begin to be restored.

Памятник

Памятник М.И. Глинке

Адрес

ул. Глинки, 9

Категория

Памятники

Ежедневно

Дата открытия

3 февраля 1906 г.

Скульптор / Архитектор

Р.Р. Бах, А.Р. Бах

Высота памятника

7,5 м

Высота фигуры

3,5 м

Памятник русскому композитору Михаилу Ивановичу Глинке было решено установить к его столетию, которое отмечалось в 1904 году. С этой инициативной в 1901 году выступило Императорское русское музыкальное общество. Оно объявило  конкурс на создание монумента и всероссийский сбор пожертвований. За небольшой период времени удалось собрать около 107 тысяч рублей – в том числе за счет проведения благотворительных спектаклей и концертов.

Проект памятника разработали два брата — скульптор Роберт Бах и архитектор Александр Бах. Бронзовая статуя высотой 3,5 метра размещена на красном гранитном пьедестале, общая высота монумента – 7,5 метра.

Памятник торжественно открыли 3 февраля 1906 года.  Композитор изображен в полный рост: легкое пальто развевается, одна рука заложена в карман брюк, лицо задумчивое, взгляд сосредоточен. Он явно внимательно прослушивает новое музыкально произведение. На полированных гранях постамента расположены надписи, выполненные позолоченными буквами: даты жизни и смерти композитора, названия его самых известных музыкальных произведений. Скульптуру окружает небольшая площадка из такого же красного полированного гранита. До 1926 года ее украшали два бронзовых канделябра.

Первоначально памятник стоял на пересечении Театральной площади и улицы Глинки. Однако вскоре выяснилось, что место выбрано неудачно: монумент мешал уличному движению. В 1926 году в ходе реконструкции площади памятник разобрали, а затем переставили его на новое место, к югу от здания Консерватории, где он и расположен по сей день. Канделябры были признаны лишними — их восстанавливать не стали.