Monument

Monument to konka

Address

The 6th-7th line of VO, the angle of the Middle Ave, near the metro station "Vasileostrovskaya"

Category

Monuments

Opened in

October 27, 2004

Sculptor

A. Ziyakayev, N. Pentheshin

The location of the monument to Konka, the predecessor of the tram, was not chosen by chance. From here on August 27, 1863, the crews of the first horse - railway along the route "6th Line - Konnogvardeisky Boulevard - Admiralteyskaya Ploshchad '" were going.

Konka represented one- or two-story wagon drawn by one or two horses with the scab, its speed was 8 kilometers per hour. The ticket on the first "floor" costed 5 kopecks, 22 people could accommodate there, on the imperial - 24 people paid 2 kopecks.

The success of the enterprise was enormous: the first line of the year carried almost a million passengers. Therefore, a partnership was organized, which had six horse parks, numbering three and a half thousand horses at its disposal, and served 26 routes.

The monument in the form of a two-story car was created in 2004 according to the model of the St. Petersburg’ konka of 1872-1878. The model was restored according to the drawings of the Putilov factory.

In 2005, the monument was supplemented with sculptures of two horses by A. Ziyakayev. Initially, they were made of concrete and plastic, and in 2007 they were replaced with marble figures. In 2009, the coachman of the work of the sculptor I. Penteshin and co-authors appeared. The coachman's clothes include historically authentic details: a cap, inscriptions, a badge with number 1, the coat of arms of a horse-railway.

In the trailer of the monument offices selling railway and air tickets are working.

Памятник

Памятник конке

Адрес

6-я–7-я линия В.О., угол Среднего пр., у метро «Василеостровская

Категория

Памятники

Дата открытия

27 октября 2004 года

Скульптор / Архитектор

А. Зиякаев, Н. Пентешин

Место установки памятника Конке — предшественницы трамвая –  выбрано не случайно. Именно отсюда 27 августа 1863 года ходили экипажи первой конно-железной дороги по маршруту «6-я линия — Конногвардейский бульвар — Адмиралтейская площадь».

Конка  представляла собой одно- или двухэтажный вагон, запряженный одной или двумя лошадьми, ее скорость составляла около 8 км в час. Билет на первом «этаже» стоил 5 копеек, там могли разместиться 22 человека, на империале – 24 человека платили за проезд по 2 копейки.

Успех предприятия был огромным: первая линия за год перевезла почти миллион пассажиров. Поэтому было организовано товарищество, имевшее в своем распоряжении шесть конных парков, насчитывающих три с половиной тысячи лошадей, и обслуживающих 26 маршрутов.

Памятник в виде  двухэтажного вагона создали в 2004 году по образцу петербургской конки 1872–1878 гг. Модель восстановили по чертежам Путиловского завода.

В 2005 году памятник был дополнен скульптурами двух лошадей работы А. Зиякаева. Первоначально кони были выполнены из бетона и пластика, а в 2007 году их заменили мраморными фигурами. В 2009 году появился и вагоновожатый-кучер работы скульптора И. Пентешина с соавторами. Одежда кучера включает в себя исторически достоверные детали: фуражка, надписи, бляха с номером 1, герб конно-железной дороги.

В вагончике памятника конке работают кассы, продающие железнодорожные и авиабилеты.