Monument

Monument to the St. Isaac's Bridge

Alexey Kudinkin, https://www.archiveteam.org/

Address

University embankment, 13

Category

Monuments

Daily

24 hours

Opened in

в 1991 году

Sculptor

V.M. Ivanov

Isaakievsky Bridge is a not preserved wooden floating bridge across the Bolshaya Neva. Almost 200 years, from 1727 to 1916, with interruptions, it connected Vasilievsky Island with the central part of the city. The bridge, mounted on barges, was located in the alignment of the Senate Square and got its name from the church of St. Isaac Dalmatskiy, which stood there, where the Bronze Horseman is now.

On July 11, 1916, a  ferry burned from the spark passing through the Neva tow, and on December 23 of the same year, the St. Isaac's bridge was replaced by a permanent Palace Bridge built upstream. There are coastal foundations with granite facing and rounded staircases at the Admiralteyskaya and Universitetskaya embankments that were saved from the Isaakievsky bridge.

In memory of this crossing in 1991 on the University embankment, a memorial plaque was built: "Here was the first floating Isaakievsky bridge in the city. Coastal foundations were built in 1819-1821 according to the design of engineer A.A.Betancourt. "

Памятник

Памятник Исаакиевскому мосту

Alexey Kudinkin, https://www.archiveteam.org/

Адрес

Университетская набережная, 13

Категория

Памятники

Ежедневно

Круглосуточно

Дата открытия

в 1991 году

Скульптор / Архитектор

В.М. Иванов

Исаакиевский мост — не сохранившийся деревянный наплавной мост через Большую Неву. Почти 200 лет, с 1727 по 1916 год, с перерывами, он соединял Васильевский остров с центральной частью города. Установленный на барках-плашкоутах мост располагался в створе Сенатской площади и получил своё название от церкви Исаакия Далматского, которая стояла там, где сейчас находится Медный всадник.

11 июля 1916 года переправа сгорела от искры проходящего по Неве буксира, а 23 декабря того же года на смену наплавному Исаакиевскому мосту пришел постоянный Дворцовый, построенный выше по течению. От Исаакиевского моста сохранились береговые устои с гранитной облицовкой и закругленными лестницами на Адмиралтейской и Университетской набережных.

В память об этой переправе в 1991 году на Университетской набережной была установлена мемориальная доска: «Здесь находился первый в городе наплавной Исаакиевский мост. Береговые устои сооружены в 1819–1821 гг. по проекту инженера А.А. Бетанкура».