Monument

Monument to A.S. Popov

Address

Square at Kamennoostrovsky Ave, 39-41

Category

Monuments

Opened in

March 22, 1959

Sculptor

V.Ya. Bogolyubov, V.V. Isaeva et al. / N.V. Baranov

Height

7.6 meters

The monument to the inventor of the radio, Alexander Stepanovich Popov, is set in the park, near the metro station "Petrogradskaya". The monument was opened on March 22, 1959, to the centennial anniversary of the birth of Russian electrical engineer.

It took ten years to make the monument. The competition was announced in 1949, the project of Veniamin Bogolyubov was selected from four creative designs of different sculptors. The project was completed by a team of young authors, including M.K. Anikushin, under the guidance of the sculptor Vera Isaeva, because  V.Ya. Bogolyubov passed away in 1954.

The sculpture is made of bronze, the material of the pedestal is granite. A meeting held near the monument of Alexander Popov. It is held on the day of the radio that is celebrated annually on May 7, flowers are placed at the foot of the monument.

Памятник

Памятник А.С. Попову

Адрес

Сквер на Каменноостровском пр., 39-41

Категория

Памятники

Дата открытия

22 марта 1959 года

Скульптор / Архитектор

В.Я. Боголюбов, В.В. Исаева и др. / Н.В. Баранов

Высота памятника

7,6 метров

Памятники /

Памятник изобретателю радио Александру Степановичу Попову установлен в сквере, недалеко от станции метро «Петроградская». Монумент был открыт 22 марта 1959 года к столетнему юбилею со дня рождения русского электротехника.

На изготовление памятника ушло десять лет. Конкурс был объявлен еще в 1949 году, из четырёх творческих разработок разных скульпторов был выбран проект Вениамина Боголюбова. Правда, завершать замысел пришлось коллективу молодых авторов, в том числе М.К. Аникушину, под руководством скульптора Веры Исаевой, так как В.Я. Боголюбов ушёл из жизни в 1954 году.

Скульптура выполнена из бронзы, материалом постамента выбран гранит. В день радио, отмечающийся ежегодно 7 мая, у памятника изобретателю радио Александру Попову проходит митинг, к подножию монумента возлагают цветы.