Famous building

The Mansion of Siegel

Address

Marata Str., 63

Category

Famous buildings

Years of foundation

1888–1890

Architects

I.S. Kittner

Style

neo-renaissance

In the middle of the XIX century, the territory occupied by the house 63 on Nikolaevskaya Street (now Marata Street) was part of the vegetable gardens of the merchant Maria Sidorova. These gardens were one of the largest at that time in St. Petersburg.

In the 1870s, a section between Nikolayevskaya and Yamskaya streets (now Dostoevsky Street) was purchased by Saxon businessman Kurt Bogdanovich Siegel. In the courtyards, he placed the production buildings and warehouses of the factory "K. B. Siegel”, which produced equipment for water and gas. The facade on Nikolayevskaya street is the owner's mansion. According to the project of Jerome Kittner, the house was built of brick and hewn stone in the neo-Renaissance style.

In 1917, Siegel’s factory was nationalized. Since 1946, it began to produce watches, including facade and industrial. The high-rise buildings in Moscow and Warsaw, the Kremlin Palace of Congresses, the metro stations are decorated with watches of this particular factory.

Today the mansion of Siegel is occupied by the bank.

Достопримечательность

Особняк Зигеля

Адрес

ул. Марата, 63

Год постройки

1888–1890 годы

Архитектор

И.С. Китнер

Стиль

неоренессанс

В середине XIX века территория, занимаемая домом 63 по Николаевской улице (ныне ул. Марата), входила в состав огородов купчихи Марии Сидоровой. Эти огороды были одними из самых крупных в то время в Санкт-Петербурге.

В 1870-х годах участок между улицами Николаевской и Ямской (ныне ул. Достоевского) приобрёл саксонский предприниматель Курт Богданович Зигель. Во дворах он разместил производственные корпуса и склады завода «К. Б. Зигель», который выпускал оборудование для подачи воды и газа. Фасадом к Николаевской улице расположился особняк владельца. По проекту Иеронима Китнера дом был выстроен из кирпича и тесаного камня в стиле неоренессанс.

В 1917 году завод Зигеля был национализирован. С 1946 года он стал производить часы, в том числе фасадные и промышленные. Часами именно этого завода оформлены высотные здания в Москве и Варшаве, Кремлёвский дворец съездов, станции метрополитена.

Сегодня особняк Зигеля занимает банк.