Famous building

Mansion of E. E. Kleinmichel

Address

Crestovka Emb., 12

Category

Famous buildings

Years of foundation

1834, 1904, 1911–1912

Architects

A.I. Shtakenshneier (before rearrangements), K.G. Preuss, I.A. Pretro, K.K. Meyb

Style

modern

The construction of this part of Kamenny Island is connected with the construction of the Kamennoostrovsky Theater. Here began to appear villas whose owners were associated with theatrical life.

In the place where this house now stands, in 1834 a mansion was built by architect A.I. Stackenschneider for the French actor Zhenes. In 1874, the house burnt down, soon the new owner of the plot was the wife of the master of silver affairs N.A. Verkhovtseva On the surviving foundation, a wooden two-story villa was built, which in 1893 was rented by the Countess Maria Eduardovna Kleinmichel.

Countess Kleinmichel was a famous grand-dame of the late XIX-early XX century, in her mansion the famous costume balls and salons were held, where all the high-society Petersburg gathered.

During its existence, the house was rebuilt more than once under the guidance of various architects. Many people compare it with a fairy-tale castle - the roof is completed with a high spire, the turret is on the side, and decorate pinnacles above the front entrance - decorative turrets in the form of spears. The mansion is surrounded by a monumental grille with vegetative ornamentation and salamanders, the gates in the Neo-Gothic style lead to the house.

The interior of the mansion has not been preserved, but they are known due to a series of photographs of Karl Bulla. The walls of the vestibule were paneled with oak; to the right of the entrance was a massive fireplace, lined with patterned ceramic tiles. A ladder with carved handrails led to the gallery. The carved pillars of the staircase were decorated with male heads in broad-brimmed hats. The suite of ceremonial rooms was decorated with Corinthian pilasters, stucco friezes in the form of wreaths with garlands. In the Great Living room, there was a marble fireplace with atlantes, in front of him on the low pedestals two sphinxes were laying.

During the First World War, the countess arranged a hospital here, and after the revolution, she left the country. Currently, the mansion is privately owned, and you can admire it only from the outside.

Знаменитое здание

Особняк М. Э. Клейнмихель

Адрес

наб. р. Крестовки, 12

Год постройки

1834, 1904, 1911–1912 годы

Архитектор

А.И. Штакеншнейер (до перестроек), К.Г. Прейс, И.А. Претро, К.К. Мейбом

Стиль

модерн

Знаменитые здания /

Застройка этой части Каменного острова связана с сооружением Каменноостровского театра. Здесь стали появляться дачи, владельцы которых были связаны с театральной жизнью.

На месте, где сейчас стоит этот дом, в 1834 году был возведен особняк по проекту архитектора А.И. Штакеншнейдера для французского актера Женьеса.  В 1874 году дом сгорел, вскоре новой владелицей участка стала жена серебряных дел мастера Н.А. Верховцева. На сохранившемся фундаменте построили деревянную двухэтажная дачу, которую в 1893 году арендовала графиня Мария Эдуардовна Клейнмихель.

Графиня Клейнмихель была известной гранд-дамой конца XIX-начала ХХ века, в ее особняке проводились знаменитые костюмированные балы и салоны, где собирался весь великосветский Петербург.

За время своего существования дом перестраивался не единожды под руководством разных архитекторов. Многие сравнивают его со сказочным замком — крыша завершена высоким шпилем, сбоку располагается башенка, а лепной картуш над парадным входом украшают пинакли —  декоративные башенки в виде копий. Особняк окружает монументальная решетка с растительным орнаментом и саламандрами, к дому ведут ворота в неоготическом стиле.

Интерьеры особняка не сохранились, но они известны благодаря серии фотографий Карла  Буллы. Стены вестибюля были обшиты дубовыми панелями, справа от входа находился массивный камин, облицованный узорчатой керамической плиткой. Лестница с резными перилами вела на галерею. Резные столбы лестницы были декорированы мужскими головками в широкополых шляпах. Анфиладу парадных помещений украшали коринфские пилястры, лепные фризы в виде венков с гирляндами. В Большой гостиной находился мраморный камин с атлантами, перед ним на низких постаментах лежали два сфинкса.

Во время Первой мировой войны графиня обустроила здесь госпиталь, а после революции она покинула страну. В настоящее время особняк находится в частном владении, и полюбоваться им можно только снаружи.