Famous building

The mansion of the merchant Forostovsky

Address

A 4-th line of V.O., 9

Category

Famous buildings

Years of foundation

1901

Architects

K.K. Schmidt

Style

modern

A small two-storied mansion on the 4th line of the Vasilievsky Island was erected by the architect Karl Schmidt for merchant Pavel Forostovsky. The merchant owned a freight forwarding company, his main business was the delivery of goods from Finland to Russia.

The Forostovsky mansion is one of the first and most "European" Art Nouveau buildings in St. Petersburg. In its architecture, it is close to the French art-nouveau style. The building is distinguished by an asymmetrical facade, the left part of which is decorated with a high tower, while the right one has only one floor with a glazed roof (there was a winter garden). These techniques create the illusion that the mansion really stands "apart", although other buildings adjoin it to the left and right.

The main facade of the mansion is faced with a yellowish brick. The plinth, the brackets of the balcony and the inserts are made of red granite of Gangut, ornamental decorations above the windows are made of artificial stone and imported majolica tiles. In the cast-iron decor the floral ornament is used.

Today, the former mansion is the Directorate for the construction of the Ring Road in St. Petersburg.

Достопримечательность

Особняк купца Форостовского

Адрес

4-я линия В.О., 9

Год постройки

1901 год

Архитектор

К.К. Шмидт

Стиль

модерн

Небольшой двухэтажный особняк на 4-й линии Васильевского острова  возведен архитектором Карлом Шмидтом для купца Павла Форостовского. Купец владел транспортно-экспедиторской фирмой, его главным  делом была доставка товаров из Финляндии в Россию.

Особняк Форостовского — одно из первых и самых «европейских» зданий стиля модерн в Санкт-Петербурге. По своей архитектуре он близок к французским образцам стиля ар-нуво.  Здание отличает асимметричный фасад, левая часть которого украшена высокой башней, тогда как правая имеет всего один этаж с застекленной крышей (там находился зимний сад). Эти приемы создают иллюзию, что особняк действительно стоит «особняком», хотя вплотную к нему слева и справа примыкают другие здания.

Главный фасад особняка облицован желтоватым кирпичом. Цоколь, кронштейны балкона и вставки - из красного гангутского гранита, орнаментальные украшения над окнами — из искусственного камня и импортной майоликовой плитки. В чугунном декоре использован растительный орнамент.

Сегодня бывший особняк занимает дирекция по строительству КАД Санкт-Петербурга.