Famous building

Mansion of Princess Gagarina

Address

Str. Bolshaya Morskaya, 45

Category

Famous buildings

Years of foundation

1836

Architects

Auguste Montferrand

Style

classicism with elements of baroque and neo-Renaissance

The first stone house was located on this site since the early 1740s. At the end of 1834, the site was purchased by the architect Auguste Montferrand, who developed a project for the restructuring of the building, and in 1836 sold the house along with the project of reorganization to the owner of the neighboring house 43 on Bolshaya Morskaya street, P.N. Demidov

In 1836 the house was rebuilt and acquired a rather unusual appearance. It consists of two buildings - one-storeyed in classical style with baroque elements and adjoining three-story, reminiscent of Italian Renaissance villas.

Both buildings are richly decorated with sculptural decor: the decorative reliefs of the three-story building depict the stories of Lafontaine's fables, and the attic of the one-story building is devoted to subjects from the history of art: Leonardo da Vinci, Michelangelo, Titian.

In 1873, the son of P.N. Demidov sold the mansion to Princess V.F. Gagarina, in 1873-1874, according to the project of M.E. Mesmacher interiors were re-decorated. Until now, marble and carved fireplaces, panels of oak and walnut, the lobby with oak panels and a white marble staircase and a large hall with an oak gallery are preserved.

The house belonged to the Princess Gagarina till 1918. Today, the St. Petersburg House of Composers is situated here.

Знаменитое здание

Особняк княгини Гагариной

Адрес

ул. Большая Морская, 45

Год постройки

1836 год

Архитектор

Огюст Монферран

Стиль

классицизм с элементами барокко и неоренессанса

Знаменитые здания /

Первый каменный дом располагался на этом участке с начала 1740-х годов. В конце 1834-го года участок приобрел архитектор Огюст Монферран, который разработал проект перестройки здания, а в 1836 году продал дом вместе с проектом перестройки владельцу соседнего дома 43 по Большой Морской улице — П.Н. Демидову

В 1836 году дом был перестроен и приобрел довольно необычный вид. Он состоит из двух корпусов —  одноэтажного в классическом стиле  с элементами барокко и примыкающего к нему трехэтажного, напоминающего итальянские виллы эпохи ренессанса.

Оба здания богато украшены скульптурным декором: декоративные рельефы трехэтажного корпуса изображают сюжеты басен Лафонтена, а аттик одноэтажного корпуса посвящен сюжетам из истории искусства: Леонардо да Винчи, Микеланджело, Тициану.

В 1873-м году сын П.Н. Демидова продал особняк княгине В. Ф. Гагариной,  в 1873–1874 годах по проекту М.Е. Месмахера были заново отделаны интерьеры. До настоящего времени сохранились мраморные и резные камины, панели из дуба и ореха, вестибюль с дубовыми панелями и беломраморной лестницей, большой зал с дубовой галереей.

Княгине Гагариной дом принадлежал до 1918 года. Сегодня здесь располагается Санкт-Петербургский Дом композиторов.