Famous building

Mansion of Count Sheremetev

Address

Shpalernaya Str. 18

Category

Famous buildings

Years of foundation

1858, 1883–1885

Architects

E.A. Tour, V.A. Prussakov, V.G. Turgenev, A.I. Gauguin.

Style

eclecticism

The first building appeared here in the 1780s, it was a three-story guard house of Captain-Lieutenant Kozhin. The rounded corners of the building have survived to this day. In 1798 the house was sold to the Treasury, in the first half of the XIX century there were officers' apartments.

In 1858 the house was purchased by Baron B.A. Fitingof and he rebuilt it according to the project of E.A. Tur in the neo-renaissance style. The Baron was famous at the time as an amateur composer, in the house famous musical and literary evenings in St.Petersburg were held.

Since 1883 the house was owned by Count Alexander Dmitrievich Sheremetev. After the wedding with Countess M.F. Heiden, he rebuilt the mansion, redesigning the interior decoration, which in many aspects repeated the premises of the Fountain House. As in the palace on Fontanka, the mansion was decorated with the family coat of arms and the motto of the Counts of the Sheremetevs: Deus conservat omnia (God preserves everything).

Since 1934 the Leningrad House of Writers was located here. In 1993, a fire broke out in the house, which destroyed part of the interiors. In the 21st century, the mansion passed several times from hand to hand, the interiors were restored.

Until recently, the building was the hotel Sheremetev Palace, now it is closed, and what is inside is unknown.

Достопримечательность

Особняк графа Шереметева

George Shuklin (talk), wikimedia.org

Адрес

Шпалерная ул., 18 / наб. Кутузова, 4

Год постройки

1858 год, 1883–1885 годы

Архитектор

Е.А. Тур, В.А. Пруссаков, В.Г. Тургенев, А.И. Гоген.

Стиль

эклектика

Первое здание появилось здесь в 1780-х годах — это был трехэтажный дом гвардии капитан-поручика Кожина. Скругленные углы здания сохранились и поныне. В 1798 году  дом был продан в казну, в первой половине XIX века здесь были офицерские квартиры.

В 1858 году дом приобрел барон Б.А. Фитингоф и перестроил его по проекту Е. А. Тура в стиле неоренессанс. Барон был известным в свое время композитором-любителем, в доме проходили знаменитые в Петербурге музыкальные и литературные вечера.

С 1883 года домом владел граф Александр Дмитриевич Шереметев. После свадьбы с графиней М.Ф. Гейден он перестроил особняк, заново спроектировав внутреннее убранство, которое во многом повторяло помещения Фонтанного дома.  Как и во дворце на Фонтанке, особняк был украшен фамильным гербом и девизом графов Шереметевых:  Deus conservat omnia (Бог сохраняет все).

С 1934 года здесь располагался Ленинградский  Дом писателей. В 1993 году в доме произошел сильный пожар, который уничтожил часть интерьеров. В XXI веке особняк несколько раз переходил из рук в руки, интерьеры были восстановлены.

До последнего времени в здании находилась гостиница Sheremetev Palace , сейчас она закрыта, и что находится внутри — неизвестно.

Культурная столица приглашает в гости!
Многодневные туры и речные круизы в Санкт-Петербург
Заказать