Famous building

Buturlinoy's mansion

Address

Tchaikovsky Str., 10

Category

Famous buildings

Years of foundation

1857–1860

Architects

G.A. Bosse

Style

neo-baroque

Elegant three-story mansion on Tchaikovsky Street recalls the architecture of Elizabethan baroque. However, the building was built in the second half of the XIX century for the state-lady Elizaveta Mikhailovna Buturlina.

Interesting is the story of the site on which stands Buturlinoy's house. After the foundation of the city and until 1733, this land belonged to the scorer Vasily Korchmin, whose name is associated with the name of Vasilyevsky Island.

Until the end of the 1840s, there was a one-story wooden house with outbuildings on this site. Only when the land was acquired by E.M. Buturlina, it was decided to erect a luxurious mansion here. The three-story building was decorated with numerous sculptures, columns, and pilasters. Like in the Winter Palace, there were statues and vases on the roof of the house, which, unfortunately, did not reach our days.

Buturlinoy's mansion was a lucrative home, and people from different estates lived here. So, in 1868 in apartment 24 lived the family of Kovalevsky. Sofya V. Kovalevskaya went down in history as a mathematician, the first woman to be a corresponding member of the Petersburg Academy of Sciences.

From the 1860s to 1914, the mansion housed the Austro-Hungarian embassy. After the outbreak of the First World War, it was destroyed by the mob and set on fire. Curiously, the firemen did not extinguish the fire, but only tried not to spill it over to neighboring buildings.

In 1924-1925 the mansion was renovated, taken under protection as a monument of architecture and turned into a multi-apartment house. During the siege of Leningrad, the fascist bomb destroyed the house's outbuilding. After the war, it was restored but became a little more modest.

Знаменитое здание

Особняк Бутурлиной

Адрес

ул. Чайковского, 10

Год постройки

1857–1860 годы

Архитектор

Г.А. Боссе

Стиль

необарокко

Знаменитые здания /

Изящный трехэтажный особняк на улице Чайковского напоминает об архитектуре елизаветинского барокко. Однако здание построено во второй половине XIX века для статс-дамы Елизаветы Михайловны Бутурлиной.

Интересная история участка, на котором стоит дом Бутурлиной. После основания города и до 1733 года эта земля принадлежала бомбардиру Василию Корчмину, с именем которого легенда связывает название Васильевского острова.

До конца 1840-х годов на этом участке стоял одноэтажный деревянный дом с пристройками. Лишь когда землю приобрела Е.М. Бутурлина, было принято решение возвести здесь роскошный особняк. Трехэтажное здание  было украшено многочисленными скульптурами, колоннами и пилястрами. Как и в Зимнем дворце, на крыше дома стояли статуи и вазы, которые, к сожалению, не дошли до наших дней.

Особняк Бутурлиной был доходным домом, и здесь жили люди самых разных сословий. Так, в 1868 году в квартире 24 жила семья Ковалевских. Софья Васильевна Ковалевская вошла в историю как математик, первая женщина - член-корреспондент Петербургской академии наук.

С 1860-х годов по 1914 год в особняке размещалось австро-венгерское посольство. После начала Первой мировой войны оно было разгромлено толпой и подожжено. Любопытно, что пожарные не тушили огонь, а только старались, чтобы он не перекинулся на соседние здания.  

В 1924–1925 годы особняк был отремонтирован, взят под охрану как памятник архитектуры и превращен в многоквартирный жилой дом. Во время блокады Ленинграда фашистская бомба уничтожила лицевой флигель дома. После войны он был восстановлен, но стал немного скромнее.