Famous building

Obukhovskaya hospital

Address

Fontanka River emb., 106

Category

Famous buildings

Daily

Years of foundation

1779–1866

Architects

L. Ruska, P.S. Plavov, I.V. Strom

Style

Classicism

On August 16 (27), 1780, the Obukhovskaya hospital was solemnly opened in St. Petersburg, one of the first city hospitals in Russia. She worked since 1779.

Initially, the hospital had 60 beds, including the "Dolgauz" - a home for the insane (the first psychiatric institution in the city), and was housed in several wooden barracks on the territory of the former estate of Artemy Volynsky, a nobleman and diplomat who was executed under Empress Anna Ioannovna. The hospital got its name from the nearby Obukhovsky Avenue (it existed in 1804-1878 on the site of the present-day Moscow Avenue and ran from Sennaya Square to Fontanka).

In 1784, a stone hospital building was erected on the Fontanka side, designed by Luigi Rusca. Here is the building of the men's department with 300 beds. The construction of this building was carried out according to the plan of the life-surgeon of Empress Catherine II, von Kelchen, who took the city hospital in Vienna as a model.

In 1828 the psychiatric ward was transferred to the Peterhof road, to the former Sievers-Potemkin estate. The palace was rebuilt as a hospital by architects D.I. Quadri and P.S. Plavov. In 1832, the hospital was opened and received the name Joy Hospital of All Who Sorrow.

Obukhovskaya hospital continued to expand. In 1836-1839, from the side of Zagorodny Prospect, a building for the women's department with 200 beds was erected according to the project of P.S. Plavova. And in 1866 the architect I.V. Strom built two more buildings along the Vvedensky Canal. One of the buildings was named "Prince's" in honor of Prince PG Oldenburgsky.

By the beginning of the 20th century, the hospital had reached a capacity of 3,000 beds. Outstanding doctors worked here, including Nikolai Ivanovich Pirogov.

In the garden of the hospital in 1932, a monument to Pirogov was erected in the form of a bust of gray granite; it was created by the sculptor I.V. Krestovsky and architect L.V. Rudnev. On the face of the pedestal there is one word engraved: "Pirogov". On the reverse side there is an inscription: “Here stood the deceased, where N.I. Pirogov created his own atlas of topographic anatomy on the cuts of frozen corpses.

Since 1956, the clinic of the Military Medical Academy has been located here.

Достопримечательность

Обуховская больница

Адрес

наб. р. Фонтанки, 106

Ежедневно

Год постройки

1779–1866

Архитектор

Л. Руска, П.С. Плавов, И.В. Штром

Стиль

Классицизм

16 (27) августа 1780 года в Петербурге была торжественно открыта Обуховская больница — одна из первых городских больниц в России. Работала она с 1779 года.

Первоначально больница имела 60 коек, включая «долгауз» — Дом призрения для умалишенных (первое психиатрическое учреждение города), и располагалась в нескольких деревянных бараках на территории бывшей усадьбы Артемия Волынского — вельможи и дипломата, казненного при императрице Анне Иоанновне. Больница получила название от находившегося рядом Обуховского проспекта (он существовал в 1804–1878 годах на месте современного Московского проспекта и проходил от Сенной площади до Фонтанки).

В 1784 году со стороны Фонтанки было возведено каменное здание больницы по проекту Луиджи Руска. Здесь расположился корпус мужского отделения на 300 коек. Постройка этого здания произведена по плану лейб-хирурга Императрицы Екатерины II, фон-Кельхена, взявшего за образец городскую больницу в Вене.

В 1828 году психиатрическое отделение перевели на Петергофскую дорогу, в бывшую усадьбу Сиверса–Потемкина. Перестройку дворца под больницу осуществляли архитекторы Д.И. Квадри и П.С. Плавов. В 1832 году лечебница была открыта и получила название «Больница Всех Скорбящих Радости».

Обуховская больница продолжала расширяться. В 1836–1839 годах со стороны Загородного проспекта возвели корпус женского отделения на 200 коек по проекту П.С. Плавова. А в 1866 году архитектор И.В. Штром построил еще два корпуса вдоль Введенского канала. Один из корпусов назвали назван «принцевским» в честь принца П. Г. Ольденбургского.

К началу ХХ века больница достигла вместимости в 3000 коек. Здесь работали выдающиеся врачи, в числе которых — Николай Иванович Пирогов.

В саду больницы в 1932 году был установлен памятник Пирогову в виде бюста из серого гранита, создали его скульптор И.В. Крестовский и архитектор Л.В. Руднев. На лицевой стороне постамента выбито одно слово: «Пирогов». На оборотной стороне — надпись: «Здесь стояла покойницкая, где Н.И. Пирогов на распилах замороженных трупов создал свой атлас топографической анатомии».

С 1956 года здесь помещается клиника Военно-медицинской академии.