Palace

New Hermitage

Address

Millionnaya st., 35

Years of foundation

1842–1852

Architects

Leo von Klenze, sculptor A.I. Terebenev

Style

Classicism, neo-greek

The New Hermitage, part of the museum complex of the State Hermitage, is the first building in Russia specially built for the art museum.

The museum was created on the initiative of Catherine II. To accommodate her rich collection of European paintings in 1771, it was decided to proceed with the construction of the Hermitage. The building was erected for many decades and was completed only under Alexander the First.

In 1837, the fire caused great damage to the Winter Palace, after which Nicholas I ordered the restoration of his main residence as soon as possible - by the Easter holidays of 1939. Immediately after the restoration of the palace, the question arose of building a new building for the Hermitage.

This magnificent architectural monument was erected in the years 1842–1852 according to the project of the German architect Leo von Klenze, an outstanding connoisseur of antiquity and the main creator of the Munich Hellenism style, which was called the Greek style in Russia. The facades of the building are made using antique motifs and are world famous for their portico with ten giant statues of Atlantes.

The construction of the New Hermitage was led by architects V.P. Stasov and N.E. Efimov. The sculptures supporting the balcony were made according to the sketches of L. Klenze by sculptor A.I. Terebenev. The prototype of the Atlanteans was the figures that adorned the ancient temple of Zeus in Akragant on the island of Sicily. And in the niches of the western facade and corner pavilions there are statues of artists of antiquity, as well as Michelangelo, Raphael, Leonardo da Vinci, Benvenuto Cellini, Titian, Correggio, Rubens, Rembrandt, Durer.

The grand opening of the New Hermitage took place on February 5, 1852.

In 2016, Shuvalovsky passage was opened - a through passage between Millionnaya Street and Palace Embankment between the buildings of the Small and New Hermitage. There is a separate entrance to the museum for visitors with electronic tickets.

Архитектурный ансамбль

Новый Эрмитаж

Адрес

Миллионная ул., 35

Год постройки

1842–1852

Архитекторы

Лео фон Кленце, скульптор А.И. Теребенев

Стиль

Классицизм, неогреческий

Новый Эрмитаж, часть музейного комплекса Государственного Эрмитажа, —  первое в России здание, специально построенное для художественного музея.

Музей был создан по инициативе Екатерины II. Для размещения ее богатой коллекции европейской живописи в 1771 году было принято решение приступить к постройке Эрмитажа. Здание возводилось в течение многих десятилетий и было закончено только при Александре Первом.

В 1837 году пожар нанёс огромный ущерб Зимнему дворцу, после чего Николай I повелел восстановить свою главную резиденцию в кратчайшие сроки — к пасхальным праздникам 1939 года. Сразу после восстановления дворца встал вопрос о строительстве нового здания для Эрмитажа.

Этот великолепный памятник архитектуры был возведен в 1842–1852 годах по проекту немецкого архитектора Лео фон Кленце, выдающегося знатока античности и главного создателя стиля мюнхенского эллинизма, который в России называли стилем неогрек. Фасады здания выполнены с использованием античных мотивов и всемирно известны своим портиком с десятью гигантскими статуями атлантов.

Строительством Нового Эрмитажа руководили архитекторы В.П. Стасов и Н.Е. Ефимов. Скульптуры, поддерживающие балкон, изготовил по эскизам Л.фон Кленце скульптор А.И. Теребенев. Прототипом атлантов стали фигуры, украшавшие древний храм Зевса в Акраганте на острове Сицилия. А в нишах западного фасада и угловых павильонов установлены статуи художников античности, а также Микеланджело, Рафаэля, Леонардо да Винчи, Бенвенуто Челлини, Тициана, Корреджио, Рубенса, Рембрандта, Дюрера.

Торжественное открытие Нового Эрмитажа состоялось 5 февраля 1852 года.

В 2016 году был открыт Шуваловский проезд — сквозной проход между Миллионной улицей и Дворцовой набережной между зданиями Малого и Нового Эрмитажа. Здесь расположен отдельный вход в музей для посетителей с электронными билетами.