Church

Necropolis of the Novodevichy Voskresensky Monastery

Address

Moskovsky prospect, 100

Category

Churches

Daily

09:00 – 19:00

Years of foundation

1849

At the turn of the 19th and 20th centuries the Novodevichye cemetery was considered one of the most privileged cemeteries in St. Petersburg. The burials cover the period from the 1850s to 1934 - since then the cemetery is officially considered closed, although burials are still held there.

The name of the cemetery comes from the Novodevichy Convent, which by order of Empress Elizaveta Petrovna was first built at the Smolyany Dvor and then was transferred to the Moscow outpost. The monastery cemetery was loved by noble families and the merchant class that is why many rich and highly artistic monuments were established here. After the October Revolution, especially in the 1920s-1930s, many graves were devastated.

Now the cemetery is in a dilapidated state but it represents an artistic and historical interest. Here you can see the tombstones in the Art Nouveau and the Neo-Russian style, preserved family crypts and ensembles of common patrimonial sites for burials.

Poets F.I. Tyutchev, N.A. Nekrasov, A.N. Maikov, K.K. Sluchevsky are buried at the cemetery as well as composers A.N. Lyadov and E.F. Napravnik; artists P.V. Basin, A. Golovin, A.A. Ivanov; architects N. Efimov and I.D. Cernik; doctor E.E. Eichwald; Admirals G.I. Nevelskoy and N.O. von Essen; Generals G.O. Leer and M. I. Bogdanovich; chess player M.I. Chigorin. In 2004 Committee for State Control, Use and Protection of Historical and Cultural Monuments announced the names of over 13 thousand buried.

Храм

Некрополь Новодевичьего Воскресенского монастыря

Адрес

Московский проспект, 100

Категория

Храмы

Ежедневно

09:00 – 19:00

Расписание работы

с октября по апрель с 09.00 до 17.00

Год постройки

1849

Храмы /

На рубеже XIX и XX веков Новодевичье кладбище считалось одним из самых привилегированных кладбищ Санкт-Петербурга. Захоронения охватывают период с 1850-х годов до 1934 года — с тех пор кладбище официально считается закрытым, хотя захоронения на нем ведутся и по сей день.

Название кладбища происходит от Новодевичьего монастыря, который по указу императрицы Елизаветы Петровны сначала был устроен у Смоляного двора, а потом был переведен к Московской заставе. Монастырское кладбище любило родовое дворянство и купечество, потому здесь было установлено множество богатых и высокохудожественных памятников. После Октябрьской революции, особенно в 1920—1930-е годы, многие могилы были разорены.

Сейчас кладбище находится в полуразрушенном состоянии, однако представляет художественный и исторический интерес. Здесь можно увидеть надгробия в стиле модерн и в неорусском стиле. Сохранились фамильные склепы и ансамбли общих родовых участков для погребений.

На кладбище похоронены поэты Ф. И. Тютчев, Н. А. Некрасов, А. Н. Майков, К. К. Случевский; композиторы А. Н. Лядов и Э. Ф. Направник; художники П. В. Басин, А. Я. Головин, А. А. Иванов; архитекторы Н. Е Ефимов и И. Д. Черник; врач Э. Э. Эйхвальд; адмиралы Г. И. Невельской и Н. О. фон Эссен; генералы Г. О. Леер и М. И. Богданович; шахматист М. И. Чигорин. В 2004 году КГИОП назвал имена более 13 тысяч захороненных.