Музей

Museum of Political History of Russia

Address

ul. Kuibysheva, 2-4

Monday, Tuesday, Weekend

10:00 – 18:00

Wednesday, Friday

10:00 – 20:00

Thursday

Closed

Timetable

Sanitary day is the last Monday of the month.

Entrance fee

adults - 200 rubles. Students - 30 rubles, Children under 18 and pensioners - free of charge.

Upcoming events

Exhibition

27 / 11 / 2020 — 27 / 11 / 2022

Exposition "Russia and the World in the XIX-XX centuries"

The museum, located in the historical center of St. Petersburg, tells about the tragic events of the past, revolutions and wars that changed the fate of Russia.

The museum, which is almost 100 years old, keeps many evidences of the political life of Russian society from the end of the XVIII to the beginning of the XXI century. Among the most remarkable exhibits there are documents concerning the legislative activities of Catherine the Great and S. Vitte’s and P. Stolypin’s reforming activities, items referring to the epoch of the Great Reforms carried out by Alexander II and objects telling about three Russian revolutions. A big volume of unique materials reveals the activities of supreme state organs of the Russian Empire, the USSR, and the Russian Federation.

Exposition “Man and Power in Russia in the 19th – 21st Centuries” deals with relations of a man and a government at crucial points of the domestic history.

Characters of the exposition «Soviet Epoch: Between Utopia and Reality» are the Communist Party leaders and common people, the so-called “udarniki” (that was the name for all foremost communist-way workers) and outstanding scientists, people from NKVD (People’s Commissariat of Internal Affairs) and KGB (the Committee for State Security) and GULAG prisoners, dissidents and councilors of the USSR leaders, workers of official culture and representatives of Soviet underground. The working room of V.I. Lenin, from the balcony of which he performed in 1917,is reconstructed.

The museum houses are two architectural monuments in the Art Nouveau style, the mansions of the ballerina Kshesinska and Baron Brant.

The private residence of the prima ballerina of the Mariinsky Theater Matilda Feliksovna Kshesinskaya was built in 1904-1906 by the architect Alexander Ivanovich von Gohen. The building of the mansion attracts visitors with a free asymmetric composition, strict elegance, graphic clarity, a variety of forms and a rich palette of finishing materials; this is a standard of modern style.

The private residence of the entrepreneur Vasily Emmanuilovich Brant was built in 1909-1910 by the project of the most famous St. Petersburg architect of the late 19th and early 20th centuries, Robert Friedrich Meltzer.

Музей

Музей политической истории России

Адрес

ул. Куйбышева, д. 2-4 (вход с Кронверкского пр.)

Понедельник, Вторник, Выходные дни

10:00 – 18:00

Среда, Пятница

10:00 – 20:00

Четверг

Выходной

Расписание работы

Санитарный день — последний понедельник месяца.

Стоимость билетов

взрослые — 250 руб., студенты — 50 руб., дети до 18 лет и пенсионеры — бесплатно.

Виртуальный 3D-тур

Исторические музеи /

Ближайшие события

Выставка

07 / 09 / 2019 — 30 / 09 / 2019

Выставка «Люди хотят знать»

Музей, расположенный в историческом центре Петербурга, рассказывает о бурных и трагических событиях прошлого, революциях и войнах, изменивших судьбу России.

Музей, которому почти 100 лет, хранит многие свидетельства политической жизни российского общества с конца XVIII по начало XXI века. В коллекции музея — документы о законодательной деятельности Екатерины II, экспонаты об эпохе Великих реформ Александра II, о реформаторской деятельности С.Ю. Витте, П.А. Столыпина, о трех российских революциях. Уникальные материалы раскрывают деятельность высших государственных органов Российской империи, СССР, Российской Федерации.

Центральная экспозиция «Человек и власть в России в XIX – XXI столетиях» отражает ключевые события российской политической истории двух веков. Герои экспозиции «Советская эпоха: между утопией и реальностью» – партийные лидеры и ударники труда, сотрудники НКВД-КГБ и заключенные ГУЛАГа, диссиденты и представители андеграунда. Воссоздана рабочая комната В.И. Ленина, с балкона которой он выступал в 1917 году.

Здания музея – два архитектурных памятника в стиле модерн, особняки балерины Кшесинской и барона Бранта.

Особняк прима-балерины Мариинского театра Матильды Феликсовны Кшесинской построен в 1904-1906 годы архитектором Александром Ивановичем фон Гогеном. Здание особняка привлекает свободной асимметричной композицией, строгой элегантностью, графической четкостью, разнообразием форм и богатой палитрой отделочных материалов; это своего рода эталон стиля модерн.

Особняк предпринимателя Василия Эммануиловича Бранта построен в 1909-1910 годы по проекту крупнейшего петербургского архитектора конца XIX- начала XX вв. Роберта Фридриха Мельцера.