Museum

Музей Императорского фарфорового завода

Address

Obukhovskoy oborony pr., 151

Category

Art museums

Monday

Closed

Tuesday, Thursday, Weekend

10:30 – 18:00

Wednesday, Friday

10:30 – 21:00

Entrance fee

Adults - 300 rubles. For pensioners, students, schoolchildren - for free. Free admission for all categories of visitors: the third Thursday of each month, March 8, May 18 and December 7. Single admission ticket (Main Museum Complex, Peter the Great Winter Palace, East wing of the General Staff Building, Menshikov Palace and the Museum of the Imperial Porcelain Factory) - 800 rubles.

The Museum of the Imperial Porcelain Factory was founded in 1844 by order of Nicholas I as a repository of samples worthy of study and copying. It arose much earlier than such famous repositories of works of art as the Tretyakov Gallery and the Russian Museum.

The museum has formed the world's only unique collection, reflecting the 270-year history of the first porcelain factory in Russia. It has more than 30 thousand exhibits. These are porcelain and glass of the Imperial factories, things of the Soviet period, products of famous European manufactories and Russian private factories, samples of Japanese and Chinese porcelain. Here historical and cultural values, analogues of which are not found in any museum in the world are presented. The museum’s library, founded in the second half of the 19th century, contains rare books on porcelain and art, sketches and drawings by world-famous artists.

Since the last quarter of the nineteenth century, by personal order of Emperor Alexander III, all orders of the imperial family were executed at the factory in two copies, one of which remained in the museum. This tradition of regularly replenishing the museum was also preserved in the Soviet period, starting from the porcelain of the 1920s to the last decade of the 20th century. The museum’s collection twice left the factory’s walls: from the fall of 1917 until the fall of 1918, it was taken to Petrozavodsk for safety, and during the war and the Leningrad blockade, the exhibits were evacuated to the Urals.

On the basis of the museum collection, numerous domestic and foreign exhibitions were formed, personal exhibitions of leading artists were organized. By decision of the Ministry of Culture, porcelain from the collection of the factory museum was exhibited at exhibitions in England, Austria, Switzerland, Japan, Germany, Belgium, etc.

Members of the imperial family, Kazimir Malevich, Lunacharsky, Gorky, Chaliapin, Yesenin, Mayakovsky and Lilya Brik, Meyerhold and Zinaida Reich, the first female cosmonaut V. Tereshkova and the first mayor left autographs in the book of honored guests of the plant, and especially the museum.

In February 2001, the museum was taken over by the State Hermitage, and on December 22, the Porcelain Factory Museum was reborn as a department of the State Hermitage. And this means that for the first time in a hundred years the museum has become open and accessible to all comers.

Музей

Музей Императорского фарфорового завода

Адрес

пр. Обуховской обороны, 151

Понедельник

Выходной

Вторник, Четверг, Выходные дни

10:30 – 18:00

Среда, Пятница

10:30 – 21:00

Расписание работы

Работа кассы прекращается за час до закрытия музея

Стоимость билетов

Взрослые – 300 руб.; пенсионеры, студенты, школьники – бесплатно. Бесплатное посещение для всех категорий посетителей: третий четверг каждого месяца, 8 марта, 18 мая и 7 декабря. Единый входной билет (Основной музейный комплекс, Зимний дворец Петра I, Восточное крыло Главного штаба, Дворец Меншикова и Музей Императорского фарфорового завода) – 800 руб.

Музей Императорского фарфорового завода был основан в 1844 году по распоряжению Николая I как хранилище образцов, достойных изучения и копирования. Он возник гораздо раньше таких знаменитых хранилищ произведений искусства, как Третьяковская галерея и Русский музей.

В музее сформировалась единственная в мире уникальная коллекция, отражающая 270-летнюю историю первого фарфорового завода России. Она насчитывает более 30 тысяч экспонатов. Это фарфор и стекло Императорских заводов, вещи советского периода, изделия известных европейских мануфактур и русских частных заводов, образцы японского и китайского фарфора. Здесь представлены исторические и культурные ценности, аналогов которым нет ни в одном музее мира. В библиотеке музея, основанной во второй половине ХIХ века собраны редчайшие книги по фарфору и искусству, эскизы и рисунки художников с мировым именем.

С последней четверти ХIХ века по личному распоряжению императора Александра III все заказы императорской семьи исполнялись на заводе в двух экземплярах, один из которых оставался в музее. Эта традиция регулярного пополнения музея была сохранена и в советский период, начиная с фарфора 20-х годов до последнего десятилетия ХХ века. Дважды коллекция музея покидала стены завода: с осени 1917 до осени 1918 года в целях сохранности ее вывозили в Петрозаводск, и в годы войны и Ленинградской блокады экспонаты были эвакуированы на Урал.

На базе музейной коллекции формировались многочисленные отечественные и зарубежные выставки, устраивались персональные выставки ведущих художников. По решению Министерства культуры фарфор из коллекции заводского музея экспонировался на выставках в Англии, Австрии, Швейцарии, Японии, Германии, Бельгии и др.

В книге Почетных гостей завода, и в первую очередь музея, оставили свои автографы члены императорской семьи, Казимир Малевич, Луначарский, Горький, Шаляпин, Есенин, Маяковский и Лиля Брик, Мейерхольд и Зинаида Райх, первая женщина-космонавт В. Терешкова и первый мэр Петербурга А. Собчак – этот перечень можно продолжать и продолжать…

В феврале 2001 года музей принял под свое управление Государственный Эрмитаж, и 22 декабря 2003 года состоялось новое рождение Музея фарфорового завода как отдела Государственного Эрмитажа. А это значит, впервые за сто лет музей стал открытым и доступным для всех желающих.