Museum

The Marble Palace

Address

Millionnaya st., 5/1

Category

Art museums

Monday, Wednesday, Friday, Weekend

10:00 – 18:00

Tuesday

Closed

Thursday

13:00 – 21:00

The Marble Palace is a unique architectural monument of the 18th century which is located on the Dvortsovaya embankment of the Neva River in the historical center of St. Petersburg. It was constructed in 1768 — 1785 according to the design by an Italian architect Antonio Rinaldi (1709-1794). That was Empress Catherine II who ordered to put it up. The palace was intended for General-Feldzeugmeister -count Grigory Orlov (1734-1783). Count Orlov died when the palace was still under construction. After his death, Catherine II bought the palace from his heirs, and afterwards it belonged to the Romanov’s house until 1917.

Grand Duke Konstantin (1858-1915), the son of Konstantin-senior, inherited the palace in 1892. He occupied the rooms on the first floor, especially constructed for him, facing Millionaires’ Road. The design of these rooms has partly survived up to these days. At present, the premises are occupied with a memorial exhibition dedicated to Grand Duke Konstantin — a poet of so-called Silver Age of Russian literature who used to write under a cryptonym “KR”. 

In the autumn of 1917 the palace was nationalized. Between 1919 and 1936 Marble palace was occupied with the State Academy of Material Culture History. Between 1937 and 1991 it was occupied by the Lenin Museum. In December 1991 the Marble Palace was handed over to the State Russian Museum. Marble palace permanently displays the collection of pieces of art coming from the second half of the XX century, originally belonging to Peter and Irene Ludwig but donated by them to the museum. This exhibition is known as “Ludwig Museum in the Russian Museum”.

The palace hosts exhibitions, concerts, lectures on art and other interesting events.

There is a monument to Emperor Alexander III designed by sculptor Paolo Trubetskoi In the courtyard of the Marble Palace.

Музей

Мраморный дворец

Адрес

Миллионная ул., 5/1

Понедельник, Среда, Пятница, Выходные дни

10:00 – 18:00

Вторник

Выходной

Четверг

13:00 – 21:00

Стоимость билетов

Взрослые – 350 руб.; школьники, учащиеся средних специальных учебных заведений (старше 16 лет), студенты и пенсионеры – 170 руб.

Виртуальный 3D-тур

Ближайшие события

Выставка

24 / 06 / 2021 — 25 / 10 / 2021

Выставка. Айдан Салахова. Из цикла «Новые святые»

Мраморный дворец, уникальный памятник архитектуры XVIII в., находится на Дворцовой набережной Невы в историческом центре Санкт-Петербурга. Он был построен в 1768–1785 годах по проекту итальянского архитектора Антонио Ринальди (1709-1794). Дворец возводился по заказу императрицы Екатерины II и предназначался для ее фаворита графа Григория Орлова (1734-1783). Граф Орлов не дожил до окончания строительства дворца. После его смерти Екатерина II выкупила дворец у его наследников, и до 1917 года он принадлежал дому Романовых.

В 1892 году Мраморный дворец унаследовал сын великого князя Константина Николаевича — великий князь Константин Константинович (1858-1915). Он жил в созданных для него апартаментах на первом этаже дворца, выходящих окнами на Миллионную улицу, художественные убранства, которых частично сохранились до наших дней. Здесь развернута мемориальная экспозиция, посвящённая великому князю Константину Константиновичу — поэту серебряного века, писавшему под криптонимом «КР».

Осенью 1917 года дворец был национализирован, с 1919 по 1936 год здесь размещалась Государственная Академия Истории Материальной культуры, а с 1937 по 1991 год — музей В.И. Ленина. В декабре 1991 года Мраморный дворец был передан Государственному Русскому музею, сегодня здесь размещается постоянная экспозиция «Музея Людвига в Русском музее» — собрание немецких коллекционеров Петера и Ирене Людвиг, передавших в дар музею свою коллекцию живописи второй половины XX века.

Во дворце проводятся выставки, концерты, лекции об искусстве и другие интересные события.

Во дворе Мраморного дворца стоит памятник императору Александру III работы скульптора Паоло Трубецкого.