Музей

Rosstandart Metrological Museum

Address

Moskovsky pr., 19

Weekdays

10:00 – 17:00

Weekend

Closed

The only Metrological Museum in the country was opened in 1928 at the Institute of Metrology. DI. Mendeleev. Here are collected unique old exemplary measures, scales and other measuring instruments that tell about the history of measurements in Russia and other countries. Russian pounds and spools, buckets and fours, arshins and fathoms, Western European pounds and feet, Chinese lians, Egyptian rotli, American pints and gallons — all this can be seen in the halls of the museum.

A significant part of the museum's exposition is associated with the metrological activities of Dmitry Ivanovich Mendeleev, who from 1892 until the end of his life headed the first scientific metrological institution in Russia - the Main Chamber of Weights and Measures. A special place in the collection is occupied by the first Russian standards dating back to 1835, and the standards created by the beginning of the 20th century in the Main Chamber under the leadership of Mendeleev. There is a rich collection of scales of the world's leading companies: Ertling, Ruprecht, Nemetz, commissioned by Mendeleev on the basis of the physical theory of weights developed by him.

Sculptural and painting portraits of D.I. Mendeleev, the work of famous masters: I. Ya. Gintsburg, M.G. Manizer, L.V. Sherwood, Olga and Nikolai Bruni. The museum also includes the Scientist's Memorial Office.

The main building of VNIIM them. DI. Mendeleev, where the museum is located, was built by the architect F.F. Beckman in 1879 according to a special project of Professor V.S. Glukhov, subject to special conditions necessary for storing standards and carrying out metrological work.

The last apartment of D.I. Mendeleev is located in the so-called "Red Building", built by the architect A.I. von Gauguin in 1897 according to a plan drawn up by a scientist for the apartments of the employees of the Main Chamber.

The dominant of the historical and architectural complex of the institute is the "Building with a tower", erected in 1902 according to the project of D.I. Mendeleev and architect S.S. Kozlov for experimental metrological research. Here, in a 30-meter tower, there was an astronomical observatory and a special installation for determining the acceleration of gravity.

In 1905, a clock of the German company "Niger and Sons" was installed on the tower of the building, made by order of Mendeleev. The watch has three dials, one of which has a daily division into 24 parts. Since then and up to the present time, the work of watches has been carried out using an old mechanism.

The building of the institute is decorated with a mosaic panel "Periodic table of chemical elements", created in 1935 in the workshops of the Academy of Arts. The height of the monument-table is 9 m, the total area is 69 sq. M. The monument is based on a table from the last lifetime edition of "Fundamentals of Chemistry" by D.I. Mendeleev. Elements discovered during the life of D.I. Mendeleev are marked in red. Elements opened from 1907 to 1934 are marked in blue.

Visits to the museum are carried out only by organized groups by prior arrangement, but single visitors can join the groups. You can sign up for the nearest group and receive information about the formation of groups by e-mail: ginak@vniim.ru.

Музей

Метрологический музей Росстандарта

Адрес

Московский пр., 19

Будние дни

10:00 – 17:00

Выходные дни

Выходной

Единственный в стране Метрологический музей открылся в 1928 году в Институте метрологии им. Д.И. Менделеева. Здесь собраны уникальные старинные образцовые меры, весы и другие измерительные приборы, рассказывающие об истории измерений в России и других странах. Российские фунты и золотники, ведра и четверики, аршины и сажени, западноевропейские фунты и футы, китайские ляны, египетские ротли, американские пинты и галлоны —все это можно увидеть в залах музея.

Значительная часть экспозиции музея связана с метрологической деятельностью Дмитрия Ивановича Менделеева, который с 1892 года и до конца своей жизни возглавлял первое научное метрологическое учреждение России - Главную палату мер и весов. Особое место в собрании занимают первые эталоны России, относящиеся к 1835 году, и эталоны, созданные к началу XX века в Главной палате под руководством Менделеева. Богата коллекция весов ведущих фирм мира: «Эртлинг», «Рупрехт», «Неметц», выполненных по заказу Менделеева на основе разработанной им физической теории весов.

Здесь хранятся скульптурные и живописные портреты Д.И. Менделеева работы известных мастеров: И.Я. Гинцбурга, М.Г. Манизера, Л.В. Шервуда, Ольги и Николая Бруни. В состав музея входит также Мемориальный служебный кабинет ученого.

Главное здание ВНИИМ им. Д.И. Менделеева, где расположен музей, построено архитектором Ф.Ф. Бекманом в 1879 году по специальному проекту профессора В.С. Глухова с соблюдением особых условий, необходимых для хранения эталонов и проведения метрологических работ.

Последняя квартира Д.И. Менделеева находится в так называемом «Красном здании», построенном архитектором А.И. фон Гогеном в 1897 году по плану, составленному ученым для квартир служащих Главной Палаты.

Доминанта историко-архитектурного комплекса института — «Здание с башней», возведенное в 1902 году по проекту Д.И. Менделеева и архитектора С.С. Козлова для проведения экспериментальных метрологических исследований. Здесь, в 30-метровой башне, располагались астрономическая обсерватория и специальная установка для определения ускорения свободного падения.

В 1905 году на башне здания были установлены часы немецкой фирмы «Нейгер и сыновья», изготовленные по заказу Менделеева. На часах три циферблата, один из которых имеет суточное деление на 24 части. С тех пор и по настоящее время работа часов осуществляется при помощи старинного механизма.

Здание института украшает мозаичное панно «Периодическая система химических элементов», созданная в 1935 году в мастерских Академии Художеств. Высота памятника-таблицы – 9 м., общая площадь – 69 кв.м. В основу памятника положена таблица из последнего прижизненного издания «Основ химии» Д.И. Менделеева. Элементы, открытые при жизни Д.И. Менделеева обозначены красным цветом. Элементы, открытые с 1907 по 1934 год, обозначены синим цветом.

Посещение музея осуществляется только организованными группами по предварительным заявкам, но одиночные посетители могут присоединиться к группам. Записаться в ближайшую группу и получить информацию о формировании групп можно по электронной почте: ginak@vniim.ru.