Monument

Place of the duel of A.S. Pushkin

Address

Matros Zheleznyak St., 9

Category

Monuments

Daily

Opened in

в 1937 году

Sculptor

M.G. Manizer / A.I. Lapirov, E.I. Catonin

Height

9 meters

A memorial that marks the last duel of Pushkin. It is located on the former outskirts of St. Petersburg, at the Chernaya River (now there is a metro station with the same name). A duel was held there on January 27, 1837, between Pushkin and Dantes, during which the poet was fatally wounded.

The first monument in this place appeared in 1890. It was a brick pedestal with a plaster bust of the work of an unknown author and the inscription " Alexander Sergeevich Pushkin, - the place of his duel, which took place on January 27, 1837 ". The bust stood until 1924.

In 1925 the society " Old Petersburg - New Leningrad " together with the Pushkin House announced a competition for the project of the monument. Only ten years later according to the project of E.I. Katonina, a column of granite and marble appeared there. In 1937, it was replaced by a nine-meter obelisk with a bronze medallion. The opening of the monument was timed to the 100th anniversary of the death of A.S. Pushkin.

In 1962, in front of the obelisk two plates were set. They symbolize barriers near which duelists have stood at a distance of ten steps

Памятник

Место дуэли А.С. Пушкина

Адрес

ул. Матроса Железняка, 9

Категория

Памятники

Ежедневно

Дата открытия

в 1937 году

Скульптор / Архитектор

М.Г. Манизер / А.И. Лапиров, Е.И. Катонин

Высота памятника

9 метров

Мемориал, отмечающий место последней дуэли Пушкина, расположен на бывшей окраине Санкт-Петербурга, у Чёрной речки (сейчас неподалеку находится одноименная станция метро). 27 января 1837 года здесь состоялась дуэль Пушкина с Дантесом, на которой поэт был смертельно ранен.

Первый памятник на этом месте появился в 1890 году. Это был кирпичный постамент с гипсовым бюстом работы неизвестного автора и надписью «Александръ Сергеевичъ Пушкинъ, — место его поединка, состоявшагося 27 января 1837 г.». Бюст простоял до 1924 года.

В 1925 году общество «Старый Петербург - Новый Ленинград» совместно с Пушкинским домом объявило конкурс на проект памятника. Лишь десять лет спустя по проекту Е.И. Катонина здесь установили надломленную колонну из гранита и мрамора. В 1937 году ее сменил девятиметровый обелиск с бронзовым медальоном. Открытие памятника приурочили к 100-летию гибели А.С. Пушкина.

В 1962 году перед обелиском установили две плиты — они символизируют барьеры, у которых стояли дуэлянты на расстоянии роковых десяти шагов.