Famous building

Manege of the First Cadet Corps

Address

Universitetskaya emb., 13

Category

Famous buildings

Daily

Years of foundation

1759

Architects

I.G. Borchardt, I.Ya. Schumacher

Style

baroque

Since 1734 there was a wooden building of the manege of the First Cadet Corps. This building quickly deteriorated. The new building appeared in 1756-1759 in the Baroque style according to the project of the architects I.G. Borchard and I.Ya. Schumacher.

The sculptural design of the facades was done by I. Just according to the model of the Menshikov Palace, as it was in the middle of the 18th century. For example, the semicircular pediment with which the facade of the arena was decorated was at that time at the Menshikov Palace, but the palace was later rebuilt.

The building of the arena consists of two buildings, arranged in the form of the letter T. The front body served as a lodge for the high guests, who watched the training of cadets for horse mastery.

From the middle of the XIX century in the building of the arena of the Cadet Corps the General Directorate of Military Educational Institutions, an archive, and a printing house were located. In the Soviet times, the arena continued to belong to the military department. After the restoration of 2003-2005, a restaurant and an exhibition hall were opened here.

Достопримечательность

Манеж Первого кадетского корпуса

Адрес

Университетская наб., 13

Ежедневно

Год постройки

1759 год

Архитектор

И.Г. Борхардт, И.Я. Шумахер

Стиль

барокко

С 1734 года здесь располагалось деревянное здание манежа Первого кадетского корпуса. Эта постройка быстро обветшала. Новое здание было построено в 1756-1759 годах  в стиле барокко по проекту архитекторов И.Г. Борхарда и И.Я. Шумахера.

Скульптурное оформление фасадов выполнил И. Юст по образцу дворца Меншикова — каким он был в середине XVIII века. Например, полукруглый фронтон, которым украшен фасад здания манежа, был в то время и у Меншиковского дворца, но дворец позднее перестроили.

Здание манежа состоит из двух корпусов, расположенных в форме буквы Т. Лицевой корпус служил ложей для высоких гостей, наблюдавших за обучением кадетов конному мастерству.

С середины XIX века в здании манежа Кадетского корпуса размещалось Главное управление военно-учебными заведениями, архив и типография. В советское время манеж продолжал принадлежать военному ведомству. После реставрации 2003–2005 годов здесь открылись ресторан и выставочный зал.