Famous building

Coliseum-Arena

Address

Nevsky pr., 100 (in the yard)

Category

Famous buildings

Daily

10:00 – 22:00

Years of foundation

1907

Architects

L.L. Fufaevsky

Style

Neoclassicism

Concert Hall "Coliseum-Arena" is located in the original round building in the courtyard of the former profitable house of I.F. Lopatin.

A round construction in neoclassical style with a wooden dome 32 meters high was built in 1907 by the architect L.L. Fufaevsky. Originally there was a circular panorama of Golgotha, dedicated to the passions of Christ.

Since 1910 the building was rebuilt into a skating ring - a covered skating rink for roller skating. In 1913, it housed a cinema with the first round hall in the city. Originally the cinema was called "Galant" and in 1930 it was renamed "Colosseum", by analogy with the famous Roman structure of round form.

The building of the Coliseum has undergone several repairs and reconstructions. Finally, in 2012 the "Coliseum Arena" was opened here - a modern theater and concert venue, equipped with the latest sound and lighting equipment. Concerts of classical and modern music and jazz, theatrical productions and creative evenings of Russian and foreign stars are held here.

Достопримечательность

Колизей-Арена

Адрес

Невский пр., 100 (во дворе)

Ежедневно

10:00 – 22:00

Год постройки

1907

Архитектор

Л. Л. Фуфаевский

Стиль

неоклассицизм

Концертный зал «Колизей-Арена» расположен в оригинальном круглом здании во дворе бывшего доходного дома И.Ф. Лопатина.

Круглое сооружение в неоклассическом стиле с деревянным куполом высотой 32 метра было построено в 1907 году по проекту архитектора Л.Л. Фуфаевского. Первоначально здесь располагалась круговая панорама «Голгофа», посвященная страстям Христовым.

В 1910 года здание перестроили под скетинг-ринг — крытый каток для катания на роликовых коньках. В 1913 году здесь разместился кинематограф с первым в городе круглым залом. Первоначально кинотеатр назывался «Галант» а в 1930 году его переименовали в «Колизей», по аналогии со знаменитым римским строением круглой формы.

Здание «Колизея» претерпело несколько ремонтов и реконструкций. Наконец, в 2012 году здесь открылась «Колизей Арена» — современная театрально-концертная площадка, оснащенная новейшим звуковым и светотехническим оборудованием. Здесь проходят концерты классической и современной музыки и джаза, театральные постановки и творческие вечера российских и зарубежных звезд.